When Cedric Floyd completes his one-year term as president of the Jefferson Parish School Board, he will be succeeded in January by Ray St. Pierre, the board decided Wednesday.

St. Pierre has served as vice president this year and belongs to the same dominant board faction as Floyd.

First-term member Melinda Doucet, also a member of the teachers union-backed faction, was elected vice president.

Like Floyd, St. Pierre is a School Board veteran, serving since 2002. He also served as president in 2005, when Hurricane Katrina devastated the New Orleans area.

St. Pierre said one of his main priorities as president will be to rally support for a proposed bond issue and property tax increase that would finance $200 million in new school buildings. The plan was discussed at a meeting last month but ultimately tabled.

St. Pierre said he and others have been fine-tuning the details of the plan, and, if it passes, it would modernize the school system while setting up its nearly 50,000 students for a bright future.

Floyd’s tenure has seen some controversy, including a grievance filed against him by the board’s staff secretary before she abruptly resigned. However, in a major victory, he won 5-4 approval for a collective bargaining agreement with the district’s teachers during the summer.

After the last agreement lapsed in 2012, the previous board — dominated by a faction supported by the parish’s business community — blocked its renewal. But the teachers union-backed faction gained a majority during last year’s elections.

School Board officers serve 12-month terms and can’t spend consecutive years in the same capacity.