Photo provided by St. Tammany Parish Hospital -- Nurse wins scholarship -- Registered nurse Rebekka Amick, center, has won a professional education scholarship from the St. Tammany Parish Hospital Medical Staff Committee to work toward her clinical nurse specialist degree at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing. She joined STPH in November 2005 and works in the hospital’s 4 South wing. From left are Chief Integration Officer Dr. Patrick Torcson; Chief Nursing Officer Kerry Milton; Dr. Joseph Landers; Rebekka Amick; Amy Wade, RN; Director of Nursing Kathy McWhorter; and Chief Medical Officer Dr. Bob Capitelli.

SLU JOURNALISM AWARDS: Southeastern Louisiana University students working on the Southeastern Channel won four 2014 Mark of Excellence Awards at the annual Society of Professional Journalists Region 12 conference in Fayetteville, Arkansas. SPJ’s Region 12 comprises all universities in Louisiana, Mississippi, Arkansas and Tennessee.

The television awards presented to Southeastern Channel students included second place in the category of overall television newscast for the student news show “Northshore News.”

The channel also won a pair of second-place awards in the television general news reporting category. Northshore News reporter Kaitlyn Morales, of Covington, placed second for her story on “Causeway Safety,” while reporter Erika Ferrando, of Mandeville, won for her “Improved Levees” package.