The East St. Tammany Chamber of Commerce is accepting nominations for the Athena Leadership Award; the recipient will be honored at the Oct. 14 Second Wednesday chamber luncheon.

The criteria for selection are:

  • Excellence, creativity and initiative in their business or profession.
  • Valuable service to improve the quality of life for others in their community.
  • Active assistance to women in achieving their leadership potential.

The 2014 Athena Leadership Award winner was Kathy Lowrey. Former recipients are Kim Harbison, Tara Ingram Hunter, Sharron Newton, Sylvia Black, Mary DuBuisson, Brenda Case, Jeanne Reeves, Irma Cry, Pearl Williams, Lydia Alford, Suzanne Parsons Stymiest, Joan Archer, Stephanie Schedler, Marilyn Faust, Judy Wood, Patricia Hedges, Gilda Perkins and Carol Wolfram.

Nomination forms are available at chamber_programs_athena.php. The nomination deadline is Sept. 9. Mail entries to 1808 Front St., Slidell, LA 70458.

For details on the Athena program or to make reservations for the Oct. 14 luncheon, contact JoBeth Kavanaugh, chief operating officer of the East St. Tammany Chamber of Commerce, at jobeth@ or at (985) 643-5678.

For assistance completing the form, contact Lydia J. Alford at or (985) 643-6440.