Tulane University has been named one of three finalists for the inaugural Excellence in Innovation Award, a $100,000 honor to be bestowed by the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi.

Tulane was chosen as a finalist because of the impact of its Phyllis M. Taylor Center for Social Innovation and Design Thinking, school officials said.

Established in 2014, the center allows Tulane faculty, students and researchers to work collaboratively on practical solutions to real-life problems in the environment, education, heath care and more.

The finalists were selected by a jury of emeritus university presidents and provosts from a pool of six semifinalists representing multifaceted projects at institutions across the nation. Each was assessed on the project’s ability to achieve meaningful, measurable outcomes to create systemic large-scale change.

“Tulane has focused on innovation for a long time, with considerable momentum developing through a number of specific initiatives emanating from the center,” said Kenneth Schwartz, director of the Taylor Center and dean of the Tulane School of Architecture.

The other finalists are Arizona State University and California State University at Fullerton. The winner will be announced Monday.

Evergreen State College, James Madison University and the New School in New York were the other semifinalists.

UNO accounting accreditation renewed

The University of New Orleans department of accounting has maintained its accreditation by AACSB International, the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, the school announced.

The distinction is earned by about 2 percent of the world’s business programs, according to UNO officials.

AACSB International is the oldest global accrediting body for business schools that offer undergraduate, master’s and doctoral degrees in business and accounting. There are 761 business schools in 52 countries and territories that maintain AACSB accreditation, representing less than 5 percent of global business programs. Of that number, 183 institutions maintain an additional specialized AACSB accreditation for their accounting programs.

“This is a tremendous achievement for our department of accounting,” UNO President John Nicklow said. “To sustain this level of excellence for such a long period of time is a credit to the department chair, Dr. Philip Harmelink, and our outstanding faculty members. Our accounting alumni are enormously influential in the regional business community, and I hope all of them take great pride in their affiliation with this elite academic program.”

UNO granted its first bachelor’s degree in accounting in 1962. It has granted more than 4,000 degrees since then. The department also has granted nearly 800 master’s degrees in both accounting and tax accounting.

Harmelink has overseen the department since 1990.

Delgado business programs reaccredited

The Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs’ Associate Degree Board of Commissioners has reaffirmed accreditation of the business programs in the Business and Technology Division at Delgado Community College, the school announced.

Established in 1988, ACBSP is the only organization offering specialized business accreditation for all degree levels, from associate to baccalaureate to doctoral degree programs.

The accreditation certifies that Delgado’s Business and Technology Division meets rigorous educational standards.

Delgado was first accredited by ACBSP in 1995 and has to go through the reaffirmation process every 10 years.

“Delgado Community College has shown their commitment to teaching excellence and to the process of quality improvement by participating in the accreditation process,” said ACBSP Chief Accreditation Officer Dr. Steve Parscale.

Delgado enrolls 2,124 students in three associate degree programs in business.