The mayor, sheriff, City Council members and other New Orleans elected officials will be sworn into office for the coming term at the Saenger Theater on Monday, following the customary interfaith service at St. Louis Cathedral.

Afterward, the council will hold a special organizational meeting to elect its president and vice president, roles that typically go to the panel’s two at-large members, in this case longtime Councilwoman Stacy Head and newcomer Jason Williams.

Four years ago, Mayor Mitch Landrieu stood in front of Gallier Hall to give his first inaugural address, alluding to the gusher of oil just then beginning to spread from BP’s crippled offshore rig but speaking nevertheless of New Orleans’ “great promise” as a city.

The Saenger, fresh from a $52 million renovation, should make for an appropriate setting as Landrieu kicks off his second term, offering a monumental symbol of the rebound narrative that helped carry him to an easy re-election early this year.

There also will be plenty of room for spectators; the theater has a capacity of about 2,600 people.

The mayor will be joined by Sheriff Marlin Gusman, Clerk of Civil District Court Dale Atkins, Clerk of Criminal District Court Arthur Morrell and Orleans Parish Coroner Jeffrey Rouse, along with all seven council members.

The service at St. Louis Cathedral will begin at 8:30 a.m., followed by the inauguration ceremonies at 10 a.m. and the council’s organizational meeting at noon.