Friday, July 21, 2017
Thursday, July 20, 2017

Of all President Donald Trump's ill-judged remarks, one has stood the test of legislative experience on Capitol Hill: "Now, I have to tell you, it's an unbelievably complex subject," he said. "Nobody knew health care could be so complicated."

Wednesday, July 19, 2017
Tuesday, July 18, 2017
Sunday, July 16, 2017
Friday, July 14, 2017
Thursday, July 13, 2017

Overdose deaths across Louisiana — including in Baton Rouge and New Orleans — outnumbered homicides for the first time in 2016, a development that ought is rightly alarming the public and officials, who have watched a new wave of addictions to pre…

Wednesday, July 12, 2017
Tuesday, July 11, 2017
Sunday, July 09, 2017
Saturday, July 08, 2017
Friday, July 07, 2017

Between Tropical Storm Cindy and just regular Louisiana showers, it's been a wet spring and summer, but for too many households in our state, rains is a reminder of last year's unfinished business.

Thursday, July 06, 2017
Wednesday, July 05, 2017
Tuesday, July 04, 2017
Sunday, July 02, 2017
Saturday, July 01, 2017
Friday, June 30, 2017
Thursday, June 29, 2017

In a summer of shootings, storms and the grim politics of health care, maybe the news that Monopoly is changing its game tokens won’t rank as the top tragedy of the season.

Wednesday, June 28, 2017
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Monday, June 26, 2017

As a historic trading partner with Cuba, Louisiana is poised to benefit from a more normal relationship with the island, long in the grip of an outdated Communist government and under resulting trade restrictions with the United States.

Saturday, June 24, 2017
Friday, June 23, 2017
Thursday, June 22, 2017

The old saying is that it is an ill wind that blows no one any good, and even Tropical Storm Cindy might be said to have some benefits, or at least a potential positive for Louisiana.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Amid a wearying legislative session on the budget, precious little was done to restore state finances. But although it will take time to mature, a landmark package of bills aimed at whittling away at the state's prison population could be good for…

Sunday, June 18, 2017
Saturday, June 17, 2017
Friday, June 16, 2017

When U.S. House Whip Steve Scalise was shot during baseball practice at a Virginia playing field Wednesday, he became the second Louisiana member of Congress to face a gunman while in office. The first was U.S. Sen. Huey Long, who died after a con…

Wednesday, June 14, 2017
Tuesday, June 13, 2017

We've been over this before with the Obama administration, but now it is the new Trump administration, seeking to sell off the nation's Strategic Petroleum Reserve to reduce the budget deficit.

Sunday, June 11, 2017

For generations, Louisiana operated under the depressing assumption that its Legislature could not manage itself. Governors hand-picked top leaders of the House and Senate, with lawmakers generally acquiescing to the wishes of the chief executive.…

Saturday, June 10, 2017

When you've got plastic paid for by friendly donors to your department, why not use it? For a major at Louisiana State Penitentiary, it appears to have been too tempting, given his urgent need for sunglasses and a couple of La-Z-Boy recliners.

Thursday, June 08, 2017
Wednesday, June 07, 2017
Tuesday, June 06, 2017

In response to the controversy surrounding the removal of Confederate monuments in New Orleans, the St. Tammany Republican Parish Executive Committee is urging veterans not to visit the city, including trips to the National World War II Museum.