Sunday, April 23, 2017

If you are in favor of sensible criminal justice policies, are you soft on crime? We don't think so, but at the drop of a legislative hat, some lawmakers are ready to malign the motives of reformers.

Saturday, April 22, 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017

With six months to go before New Orleans voters cast ballots for their next mayor, the race so far has been a slow one, with only two formally declared candidates, City Council member LaToya Cantrell and Civil District Court Judge Michael Bagneris…

Thursday, April 20, 2017
Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Perhaps it sounds a little odd, but people both in Louisiana and elsewhere are sometimes fuzzy about the differences between the Affordable Care and Patient Protection Act, expanded Medicaid, and “Obamacare” — the politically charged term that inv…

Tuesday, April 18, 2017
Sunday, April 16, 2017

His first 100 days in office have included numerous lessons for Donald Trump about the limits of his power as president, from international crises (Syria, North Korea) that the United States can influence but little, and duels in Congress that don…

Friday, April 14, 2017

Good Friday, the most solemn day in the Christian church, is an occasion to reflect on the suffering that often touches the human experience, and how that suffering connects us with each other — and with the wider currents of history.

Thursday, April 13, 2017

Come, let us reason together, the Scripture quoted by Gov. John Bel Edwards goes. But Isaiah may have had an easier task rallying the children of Israel than the governor does gaining traction in the Legislature to change Louisiana’s disastrous bu…

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

After a presidential campaign that cast a dark view of global trade, Louisiana residents got a fresh reminder this week of how connected our economy is with the rest of the world.

Monday, April 10, 2017

Louisiana did not set any great records in the economic sweepstakes lately, but a very small rise in personal income in the state is better news than in some other resource-dependent economies around the nation.

Saturday, April 08, 2017

If we are going to hold the New Orleans Police Department’s leadership responsible for fighting crime, the chief needs commanders on the front lines who are in tune with his policies and intentions.

Saturday, April 08, 2017

Mayor-President Sharon Weston Broome and the Metro Council are looking at spending several million dollars to equip every patrol officer with body cameras, one of the responses that the new Baton Rouge administration seeks to make in the wake of t…

Friday, April 07, 2017
Thursday, April 06, 2017

Louisiana takes its name from Louis XIV, the French monarch known in legend for coining “L'etat c'est moi” to describe his leadership style. It translates as “I am the state,” suggesting that for those in authority, public service and personal for…

Wednesday, April 05, 2017
Monday, April 03, 2017

President Trump’s proposed federal budget might make for good political theater, thanks to headline-grabbing proposals to eliminate everything from Americorps to the Corporation for Public Broadcasting to the National Endowment for the Humanities.…

Sunday, April 02, 2017

The legendary Dutchman plugged the hole in the dike with his fingers, but J.P. Morrell is going to run out of digits long before the state Treasury runs out of tax breaks that are leaking revenues, day in and day out.

Saturday, April 01, 2017

The coziness between regulators and the regulated was once a way of life at the Public Service Commission, and we hope members have not forgotten the black eye the commission took because members had themselves entertained handsomely back in the day.

Friday, March 31, 2017

Defining the phrase “judicial temperament” might be somewhat difficult, but the spectacle of a Senate Judiciary Committee hearing is hardly the place for a potential Supreme Court justice to show it.

Thursday, March 30, 2017
Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Defense wins championships, the saying goes, but in politics as in sports there’s always another inning, even for a project many times delayed by former President Barack Obama, the Keystone XL pipeline.

Monday, March 27, 2017

One of the groups pushing for criminal justice reform in Louisiana is the Pelican Institute of Public Policy, led until his early death of cancer by Kevin Kane of New Orleans. But the work goes on, and the conservative group continues to push for …

Sunday, March 26, 2017
Friday, March 24, 2017
Thursday, March 23, 2017

Boy Scouts who showed up at the Ascension Parish Council meeting last week to earn their citizenship badges probably got more of an education about government than they bargained for. The highlight of the meeting was the council’s vote to ask indi…

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

In talking about the devastating impact of coastal erosion and rising sea levels, many of us in Louisiana are so used to the big numbers — 10,000 acres falling into the Gulf of Mexico every year, billions of dollars for restoration and protection …

Monday, March 20, 2017
Sunday, March 19, 2017

The importance of trade and international ties is a lot more visible in Louisiana than almost anywhere in the world. With the Mississippi River running through the state, with petrochemical facilities so visible, the barges and tank cares underlin…

Saturday, March 18, 2017

As New Orleans and Baton Rouge reflect on two anniversaries this year, residents of both cities are turning to literature to promote the celebrations. That’s a welcome way to promote this state’s colorful literary heritage — a part of our culture …

Friday, March 17, 2017

The health care bill from the GOP congressional leadership now supported by President Donald Trump is ostensibly aimed at following through on what Republicans promised in last year's campaign — namely, the repeal of Obamacare.

Thursday, March 16, 2017

President Donald Trump pledged to be tough on crime during last year’s campaign, a message that resonated with voters here and across the country. To make good on that promise, the president should act swiftly in appointing U.S. attorneys to serve…

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

In Louisiana, the disasters have piled up. Huge amounts of personal savings, insurance payments and federal aid money are being spent to hire contractors to put right the homes and businesses devastated by flooding.

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

Every Lent, because of a belief that doing without small pleasures can make you stronger, many people give up sweets in the weeks before Easter. It’s a special sacrifice in Louisiana, where the local cuisine includes bread pudding, beignets, dober…

Monday, March 13, 2017

Although there's a lot of new attention to public works, courtesy of President Donald Trump's campaign to rebuild America's infrastructure, there will be difficulties aplenty in getting much done. Funding in an era of a giant federal debt is obvio…

Sunday, March 12, 2017
Saturday, March 11, 2017

In setting clocks ahead tonight to begin Daylight Saving Time, residents will lose an hour of sleep, the world seeming to quickly accelerate as Louisiana joins the nation in moving into spring. Perhaps we can be forgiven for feeling that life alre…

Friday, March 10, 2017
Thursday, March 09, 2017
Tuesday, March 07, 2017

As New Orleans returns to normalcy after Mardi Gras, it’s easy for those of us who live in Louisiana to remember that what’s normal in New Orleans often seems surreal to outsiders.

Monday, March 06, 2017