The Allstate Sugar Bowl is the new presenting sponsor for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

Named for the legendary Grambling football coach who died in 2007, the Robinson Award goes to the top head coach in the FBS. Balloting is conducted by the Football Writers Association of America, which originated the award in 1957.

LSU’s Paul Dietzel and Nick Saban are among the past winners.

This year’s winner will be announced on Dec. 15 and honored on Jan. 10, 2015 at a reception in Dallas in conjunction with the first College Football Playoff championship game.

“We want to be all things Louisiana, and so we are extending our reach across the state,” Sugar Bowl Chief Executive Officer Paul Hoolahan said. “You can’t think of football in Louisiana without thinking about Eddie Robinson.

“So it’s highly appropriate we are able to sponsor this prestigious award named in his honor.”

FWAA President Kirk Bohls of the Austin American-Statesman called the Sugar Bowl becoming the award’s presenting sponsor “a distinct pleasure,” adding, “This is truly wonderful award, and it is so fitting that that the Sugar Bowl helps us honor the winningest coach in Division I because he was born in Louisiana spent his entire coaching career at Grambling State.

“Eddie Robinson helped set the standard for coaching his entire career and brought dignity and respect to his profession.”

When Robinson retired in 1997, his 408 victories were the most ever in college football. His teams won 70.7 percent of their games, nine Black College Football Championships and 17 SWAC titles.

More than 200 of his former players went to the NFL, including Hall of Famers Buck Buchanan, Willie Davis, Charlie Joiner and Willie Brown.

This is actually the second Eddie Robinson Award sponsored by the Sugar Bowl.

At the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame banquet, award named for Robinson goes to a high school athlete, coach or administrator who has overcome limited resources to succeed.