Alexandria’s OakWing Golf Club rallied from a five-shot deficit heading into the final round to win the Louisiana Golf Association club team championship Sunday at OakWing Golf Club.

OakWing turned in a 17-under-par 415 to win the title ahead of Hebert Municipal Golf Club of Lafayette (12-under 420) and Squirrel Run Golf Club of New Iberia (7-under 425).

Sunday’s play consisted of individual stroke play with a team’s score determined by the best four of six individual scores.

Rod Baronet, the 2011 LGA Senior Amateur champion, led OakWing with a 69 in the final round, while Frank Brame (70), Keith Breazeale (70) and Doyle Eznack (71) fired under-par rounds for OakWing on Sunday.

Hebert Municipal got a pair of 70s from Ted and Thad Weber, while David Duhon fired a 74 and James Hamilton a 78. Squirrel Run’s Brody LeBlanc had the low round of the day with a bogey-free 68 featuring six birdies.

The Louisiana South Amateur Golf Tour No. 1 team finished fourth (135-291—426), followed by the OakWing No. 2 team (142-289—431) in fifth, The Golf Club at Timber Trails (143-292—435) was sixth, while Le Triomphe Golf and Country Club (140-298—438), Riverlands Golf & Country Club No. 1 team (139-299—438) and the Louisiana South Amateur Golf Tour No. 2 team (139-299—438) tied for seventh. The Le Triomphe team featured Cecil Guilbeau, Damon Savoy, Ethan Savoy, Paul Broussard, AP Langlinais and Robert Merrill.

The University Club team of Page Breaux, Dean Napoli, Frank Schroeder, Steve Thompson, Clayton Wood and Scott Haynie finished 10th (136-303—439).

Crooked Hollow Golf Club (143-307—450) was 11th, followed by Riverlands Golf & Country Club No. 2 (144-317—461), Riverlands Golf & Country Club No. 3 (148-316—464), Indian Hills Country Club (148-319—467) and St. Mary Golf and Country Club (147-324—471).

GUIDRY WINS SENIOR TOURNAMENT: Ron Guidry fired a 71 to win The Oaks at Sherwood Senior Tournament.

Ernie Hartenstine (72) was second.

Gordon Conn (64) had the low net score, and Bob Hafele (67) was second.

The tournament is held every Wednesday at 8 a.m. with registration beginning at 7 a.m.


SEIZE THE DAY WINNERS NAMED:Troy Alello was the overall male winner and AnnaLane Lee the overall female winner of the 11th annual Epilepsy Foundation Seize The Day 5K and 1 Mile Fun Run held recently at the LSU Old Front Nine.

Alello won in 18 minutes, 11 seconds, while Lee had a winning time of 22:59.

Al Naquin (20:29) was the male masters winner, while Mia McCown (26:01) was the female masters winner.

Bill Wishusen (22:07) was the male grandmasters winner, and Karen Hagendorfer (26:56) was the female grandmasters winner.

Christopher Bass (7:37) was the overall male winner in the one-mile fun run, while Lee (7:35) and the overall female winner.

DASH FOR THE DEAF WINNERS NAMED:Brent Bueche and Sarah Vincent were the overall winners of the Louisiana School for the Deaf kids 5K and 1-mile fun run held April 20.

Bueche (18:10) was the overall male winner, while Vincent (21:10) was the overall female winner.

In the mile run, Tristan Williams (6:40) was the open male winner, while Kelsey Nunez was the open female winner.

The male 13-and-under winner was Leon LeFors (10:34), while Megan Pnechaska was the female winner.


All results of recreational, competitive or age-group sports should be sent by fax (388-0318) or dropped off in person at The Advocate, 525 Lafayette St. (marked to the attention of THE WEEKLY WRAPUP), by noon Tuesday after the event.

Include as much information as possible, including when and where the event took place, and please give first names. Please print results in large, clear letters or type them. Do not put names in all capital letters.

Please list the work and home phone numbers of the person providing the results so we can call if we need more information.