NATCHITOCHES — Pulitzer Prize-winning outdoors writer Bob Marshall, a veteran of four decades with the The (New Orleans) Times-Picayune, has won the 2013 Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism from the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Marshall has spent much of his 39-year career chronicling the people, stories and issues of Louisiana’s wetlands culture. In 1997, Marshall was a member of the Times-Picayune’s three-man team that won a Pulitzer Prize for the series “Oceans of Trouble,” which examined the plight of the world’s fisheries. In 2005, Marshall’s investigations into U.S. Army Corps of Engineers missteps in building the New Orleans levees and floodwalls was part of the newpaper’s reporting package that won a Pulitzer for coverage of Hurricane Katrina.

The Distinguished Service Award in Sports Journalism recipients are chosen by the 30-member Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame selection committee based on their professional accomplishments in local, state, regional and even national arenas, with leadership in the LSWA a contributing factor and three decades of work in the profession as a requirement.

Marshall will be among the 11 honorees spotlighted during the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame induction dinner and ceremonies on June 29 at the Natchitoches Events Center.

Louisiana sport stars Ronald Ardoin, Tommy Hodson, Ervin Johnson, James Jones, Anna Koll, Kevin Mawae, Shaquille O’Neal, Chanda Rubin and Ed “Skeets” Tuohy are the nine athletes and coaches who will enter the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame this summer.

Also honored with enshrinement will be New Orleans businessman and sportsman Milt Retif, recipient of the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award.