Jason Day, the world's third-ranked player, will pair up with ninth-ranked Rickie Fowler in the new two-man format being used for the Zurich Classic of New Orleans.

Associated Press photo by Eric Gay

The Zurich Classic of New Orleans released its official list of players and teams scheduled to participate in the new-look tournament, which will be played next week at TPC Louisiana.

Tournament officials say the 160 players, who'll form 80 two-man teams to play 72 holes in a Ryder Cup format April 24-27, is the strongest in recent history with six of the world’s top 10 players committed to the $7.1 million event.

It’s the first time a two-man format will be used in an official regular-season PGA Tour event since 1981 when best-ball was used during all four rounds of the Walt Disney Classic.

The Zurich Classic will use alternate shot in the first and third rounds and best-ball in the second and fourth rounds. Players on the winning team will earn $1.022 million each and split 800 FedExCup points, but there will be no automatic Masters invite this season for the champion.

Top 10 players scheduled to play are Jason Day (third), Hideki Matsuyama (fourth), Jordan Spieth (fifth), Henrik Stenson (sixth), Justin Rose (eighth) and Rickie Fowler (ninth).

Day, the world’s top-ranked player for 47 weeks before being supplanted by current No. 1 Dustin Johnson, and Fowler will team for a power pairing of top-10 players.

Another will have Rose and Stenson playing together. Rose was the gold medalist and Stenson won the silver medal at the Olympics last August in Rio de Janeiro.

In addition to the six top 10 players, this year’s tournament is expected to include 15 of the top 30 and 25 of the world’s top 50.

“When you account for the number of players who focus on international tours and aren’t eligible on the PGA Tour, the depth of the field looks even stronger,” Fore!Kids Foundation CEO Steve Worthy said.

There are six of the top 10 players in the current FedExCup standings along with 12 of the top 20 and 17 of the top 30 going into the Valero Texas Open, which got under way Thursday.

The list of participants released by the PGA Tour includes 79 teams and 158 players; one team is being held open pending the results of the Valero Texas Open.

After the first two rounds, the field will be reduced to the low 35 teams and ties for the weekend. If there is a tie at the end of 72 holes, the sudden-death playoff will use the best-ball format.

Single-day tickets are $25 each in advance and $35 each starting Monday. Weekly passes are $75 ($25 for seniors age 65 and up with valid ID).

For more information, call the tournament office at (504) 342-3000 or go to www.zurichgolfclassic.com.

Zurich Classic of N.O.

Confirmed teams

(as of April 20)

Tyrrell Hatton/Jamie Donaldson; Trey Mullinax/Bobby Wyatt; Jason Day/Rickie Fowler; Jason Dufner/Patton Kizzire; Justin Rose/Henrik Stenson; Jordan Spieth/Ryan Palmer; Jimmy Walker/Sean O'Hair; Bubba Watson/J.B. Holmes; Billy Horschel/Matt Every; Russell Knox/Kevin Streelman; Hideki Matsuyama/Hideto Tanihara; Patrick Reed/Patrick Cantlay; David Lingmerth/Danny Lee;

William McGirt/Robert Garrigus; Daniel Berger/Thomas Pieters; Steven Bowditch/Boo Weekley; Keegan Bradley/Brendan Steele; Wesley Bryan/Ryan Blaum; Alex Cejka/Soren Kjeldsen; Tony Finau/Daniel Summerhays; Fabian Gomez/Jhonattan Vegas; Branden Grace/Louis Oosthuizen; Cody Gribble/Jim Herman; Russell Henley/Blayne Barber; J.J. Henry/Tom Hoge; Charley Hoffman/Nick Watney;

Mackenzie Hughes/Nick Taylor; Smylie Kaufman/Harold Varner; Si Woo Kim/Sung Kang; Chris Kirk/Brendon Todd; Kevin Kisner/Scott Brown; Brooks Koepka/Chase Koepka; Peter Malnati/Mark Wilson; Ben Martin/Ben Crane; Troy Merritt/Robert Streb; Rod Pampling/John Senden; Steve Stricker/Jerry Kelly; Brian Stuard/Chris Stroud; Hudson Swafford/Harris English;

Vaughn Taylor/Andres Gonzales; Justin Thomas/Bud Cauley; Geoff Ogilvy/Ian Poulter; Carl Pettersson/Jason Bohn; Kyle Ramey/Phil Schmitt; Seung-Yul Noh/Byeong Hun An; Kevin Chappell/Gary Woodland; Roberto Castro/Scott Stallings; Jamie Lovemark/Luke Donald; Brian Harman/Johnson Wagner; David Hearn/Graham DeLaet; Kyle Reifers/Andrew Johnston; Ricky Barnes/Matt Jones;

Patrick Rodgers/Cameron Tringale; Chez Reavie/Lucas Glover; Freddie Jacobson/Willy Wilcox; K.J. Choi/Charlie Wi; Spencer Levin/Rocco Mediate; Tyrone Van Aswegen/Retief Goosen; Derek Fathauer/Sam Saunders; Jonas Blixt/Cameron Smith; Zac Blair/C.T. Pan; Andrew Loupe/John Peterson; Mark Hubbard/Jonathan Randolph; Kyle Stanley/Ryan Ruffels; Michael Kim/Brandon Hagy;

Shawn Stefani/John Rollins; Ken Duke/Chad Collins; Steve Marino/Will MacKenzie; Morgan Hoffmann/Camilo Villegas; Grayson Murray/Cameron Percy; Kelly Kraft/Kevin Tway; Ollie Schniederjans/Richy Werenski; J.J. Spaun/Ryan Brehm; Dominic Bozzelli/J.T. Poston; Michael Thompson/Tim Wilkinson; Whee Kim/Greg Owen; Bryson DeChambeau/Rory Sabbatini; Martin Flores/Gonzalo Fdez-Castano; Seamus Power/Steven Alker.

Follow Sheldon Mickles on Twitter, @MicklesAdvocate.