Louisiana Tech’s forward Kathryn Sloan was named the Louisiana Sports Writers Association women’s soccer collegiate player of the year on the all-Louisiana team

Sloan and LSU’s Jorian Baucom, who was named the state’s freshman of the year, claimed the state’s top individual honors. Louisiana Tech’s Kevin Sherry was named coach of the year.

Sloan was named the state’s top player after earning second-team All-Conference USA and NSCAA third-team all-central region recognition. Sloan led Louisiana Tech with 11 goals, six assists and 28 points, while her five game-winning goals led Conference USA and tied a single-season school record.

Sherry led Louisiana Tech to its first postseason victory and a semifinal appearance in the C-USA tournament. Sherry’s squad finished with a 13-6-3 record.

Rounding out the top individual award winners was Baucom who finished the season with eight goals and four assists to lead the Tigers. She was second team All-Southeastern Conference.

Sloan was joined on the first team by teammate Brittany Beddow.

Southeastern Louisiana placed a state-high four players on the first team. Chelsea Villaescusa, Bri Singh and goalkeeper Hope Sabadash. Joining the Lady Lion trio on the first team and rounding out the SLU contingent was Maggie Ramsey.

Also repeating on the first team was Louisiana-Lafayette’s Grace Howell-Harries, who was joined by teammate Kimberly Grasso to give the Ragin’ Cajuns multiple all-Louisiana first team selections. Both Howell-Harries and Grasso were All-Sun Belt Conference and all-region honorees.

Also named to the first team were, Nicholls State’s Spencer Valdespino and McNeese State’s Savannah LaRicci.

In addition, 11 players were named to the team as honorable mention choices.