LAKE CHARLES — LSU men’s golfer Zach Wright and Tulane women’s golfer Emily Penttila were named the Louisiana men’s and women’s Golfers of the Year by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association on Saturday as part of the all-Louisiana men’s and women’s golf teams.

In addition to Wright’s Golf of the Year honors, Luis Gagne of LSU was named the state’s Freshman of the Year, while McNeese State coach Austin Burk garnered Coach of the Year honors.

On the women’s side, LSU’s Kathleen Gallagher was named Freshman of the Year and Lorne Dorn of Tulane earned Coach of the Year honors.

Wright, a junior from Phoenix, earned first team All-Southeastern Conference honors as well as being selected as a member of the Arnold Palmer Cup team and an NCAA Division I Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award semifinalist.

He capped the regular season ranked as the No. 10 individual in the country by Golfstat and Golfweek and posted a 71.38 score per round average. He posted three wins on the season with seven top-10 finishes. He had 10 finishes in the top 20 and shot par or better in 19 of 32 rounds played.

Penttila, a senior, earned first team All-American Athletic Conference honors and was named Tulane’s Most Valuable Player.

She capped the regular season ranked No. 47 in the country by Golfstat and posted a 72.97 scoring average, which was the second-best mark in a single-season in school history. That lowered her career average to 73.53, a school record. She recorded 16 rounds of par or better including three rounds in the 60s.

Joining Wright on the men’s team are Martin Eriksson of McNeese State, Haraldur Magnus of Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana Tech’s Victor Lange and LSU’s Luis Gagne to round out the first team.

Second-team honors go to Eric Ricard of LSU, Fernando Cruz Valle of Louisiana-Lafayette, Jack Lee of Nicholls, James Anstiss of Southeastern Louisiana and Andreas Krokeide of McNeese.

The women’s All-Louisiana squad includes Penttila, Silvia Garces and Laura Munoz — all of Tulane — and Kathleen Gallagher and Sydney Cavin of LSU.

Burk led McNeese to its second-straight NCAA regional appearance after the Cowboys won their first Southland Conference championship since 1979. McNeese won three tournaments on the season and ranked in the top 80 in the nation the entire year. The Cowboys posted a 22-2 record against other Southland Conference members, and 18-3 mark against teams from Louisiana, and a 79-34 record against regional teams.

In his third season at Tulane, Don led the Green Wave to the NCAA regionals for the third straight season and for the eighth consecutive season overall. The Green Wave came up one stroke short of advancing to the NCAA Championships for the fourth straight year. The program’s 298.27 season scoring average ranked as the fourth-best effort in school history.

All-Louisiana collegiate golf teams


First team

Zach Wright, LSU; Martin Eriksson, McNeese State; Haraldur Magnus, Louisiana-Lafayette; Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech; Luis Gagne, LSU

Second team

Eric Ricard, LSU; Fernando Cruz Valle, Louisiana-Lafayette; Jack Lee, Nicholls State; James Anstiss, Southeastern Louisiana; Andreas Krokeide, McNeese State

Golfer of the Year: Zach Wright, LSU

Freshman of the Year: Luis Gagne, LSU

Coach of the Year: Austin Burk, McNeese


Emily Penttila, Tulane; Silvia Garces, Tulane; Kathleen Gallagher, LSU; Laura Munoz, Tulane; Sydney Cavin, LSU

Golfer of the Year: Emily Penttila, Tulane

Freshman of the Year: Kathleen Gallagher, LSU

Coach of the Year: Lorne Don, Tulane