Alabama NCAA college football coach Nick Saban talks with the media, Monday, Dec. 1, 2014, in Tuscaloosa, Ala. (AP Photo/, Vasha Hunt)

Alabama will meet Ohio State in the Allstate Sugar Bowl while Oregon will face Florida State in the Rose Bowl on Jan. 1 in the first College Football Playoff semifinals.

The winners will meet Jan. 12 in Dallas for the national championship.

The CFP selection committee revealed is final rankings on Sunday, a day after Ohio State pummeled Wisconsin, 59-0, in the Big Ten championship game.

That was enough to propel the Buckeyes over Big 12 co-champions Baylor and TCU for the final playoff berth.

Alabama, which defeated Missouri, 42-13 for the SEC title, and Ohio State met in the in 1978 Sugar Bowl with the Crimson Tide winning, 35-6.

Defending national champion Florida State had been No. 4 last week, but was elevated to No. 3 after its 37-35 victory against Georgia Tech in the ACC title game.

The Seminoles will be meeting Oregon at the same site where they won the final BCS title last season.