A freshman and a senior captured top honors as runners of the year on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana cross country team announced Tuesday.

LSU freshman Dajour Braxton earned the men’s honor, and LSU senior Morgan Schuetz earned the women’s title in a vote of sports information/media relations representatives from the various schools. Voters could not vote for athletes from their schools.

Braxton was also chosen as the men’s freshman of the year, and McNeese’s Luke Betts earned newcomer of the year for first-year non-freshmen.

Betran Lovell, who guided Grambling to the Southwestern Athletic Conference championship, was chosen men’s coach of the year.

On the women’s side, Colby Carey of UL-Monroe and Leonie Weber of McNeese tied for freshman of the year. Brendon Gilroy of McNeese was named coach of the year.

Braxton was named the Southeastern Conference freshman of the year, the first in LSU cross country history to win the honor. He set a personal best in the 8K at the SEC Championships with a time of 24 minutes 29.2 seconds and won titles at the Allstate Sugar Bowl Festival and the LSU Invitational.

Betts was the Southland Conference newcomer of the year and ran the third-fastest time in the state in the 10K when he clocked a 31:29:10 at the NCAA South Central Regional.

Schuetz earned all-NCAA South Regional honors with a personal best 6K time of 20:23.5. She won the Allstate Sugar Bowl Festive 5K with a time of 19:40.6.

Carey was ULM’s fastest runner at the Sun Belt Conference Championships with a 5K time of 21:37.5. Weber clocked the 10th-fastest time in the state in the 6K at 22:04.60 at the NCAA regionals.


LSWA All-Louisiana cross country team


Moses Aloiloi, Tulane, So. — NCAA South Central Regional participant

Luke Betts, McNeese, Fr., — Third-fastest time in state in 10K at NCAA regional at 31 minutes 29.10 seconds

Dajour Braxton, LSU, Fr. — SEC freshman of year, first in LSU cross country history

Hassan Chepkwony, Grambling, Fr. — SWAC athlete and freshman of year; SWAC individual champion

Christian Johnson, LSU, Jr. — Two-time runner-up; NCAA South Central Regional C participant

Nathan Jones, McNeese, So. — Second team All-Southland; 10th at Southland championships; NCAA regional participant

Beau Robinson, UL-Lafayette, So. — First team All-Sun Belt; second at Sun Belt championships; NCAA regional participant

Runner of the Year — Dajour Braxton, LSU

Freshman of the Year — Dajour Braxton, LSU

Newcomer of the Year — Luke Betts, McNeese

Coach of the Year — Bertran Lovell, Grambling


Lauren Bartels, Tulane, So. — NCAA South Central Regional participant

Gemma Bridge, McNeese, Sr. — Second team All-Southland; second-fastest time in state 6K at NCAA regional

Colby Carey, UL-Monroe, Fr. — Fastest finisher on team in Sun Belt championships

Anna Katherine Devitt, UL-Lafayette, Sr. — 2012 LSWA freshman of the year; 2014 LSWA runner of the year

Emma Newton, Tulane, So. — NCAA South Central Regional participant; top Tulane runner at regional

Morgan Schuetz, LSU, Sr. — All-NCAA South Regional; personal record in the 6K at 20:23.5; won Sugar Bowl meet

Katja Woelfl, McNeese, So. — Third-fastest time in state 5K & 6K; NCAA regional participant

Women’s Runner of the Year — Morgan Schuetz, LSU

Freshman of the Year — (tie) Colby Carey, ULM; Leonie Weber, McNeese

Coach of the Year — Brendon Gilroy, McNeese

Honorable mention — Kacie Kaufman, Louisiana Tech