DALLAS — In his mind, Archie Manning knows he wants to return to the College Football Playoff selection committee next season.

Whether his health will cooperate remains the question.

“I’ve been asked to come back and I want to come back,” Manning said Friday at a news conference to announce the 2015 inductees into the College Football Hall of Fame. “I’m still dealing with some rehab. I need to make sure medically I’m able to do it.

Manning, 65, dropped off the committee in October, citing issues from back, neck and knee surgeries he underwent over the previous 15 months.

The committee met the last seven weeks of the season in nearby Irving, Texas, and Manning believes a face-to-face meeting needs to continue to be part of the process.

“The three meetings I went to, it didn’t seem like a Skype group,” he said. “What separates this from all the other polls is those two days together every week, hacking it out, throwing it out there.”

Two former Saints make Hall of Fame

Former New Orleans Saints wide receiver Wes Chandler of Florida and former Saints running back Ricky Williams of Texas were among 17 inductees announced Friday as part of the College Football Hall of Fame class of 2015.

Chandler, who played at Florida from 1974-77, played for the Saints from 1978-81.

“Real excited for Wes,” said Manning, chairman of the National Football Foundation and a 1989 hall of fame inductee from Ole Miss. “I used to throw Wes short passes and he made long gains out of them. He made me a better player.”

Williams, the 1998 Heisman Trophy winner, was drafted by the Saints with the fifth overall pick in 1999 and was traded to Miami after the 2001 season.

The induction ceremony is Dec. 8 in New York.

The other inductees:

— Trev Alberts, linebacker, Nebraska: 1993 Butkus Award winner and Academic All-American.

— Brian Bosworth, linebacker, Oklahoma: “The Boz” won two Butkus Awards and a national title.

— Bob Breunig, linebacker, Arizona State: ASU’s all-time leading tackler.

— Sean Brewer, defensive lineman, Millsaps: The only defensive lineman to be a three-time Division III All-American.

— Ruben Brown, offensive tackle, Pittsburgh: 1994 All-American and three-time All-Big East pick.

— Thom Gatewood, wide receiver, Notre Dame: All-American and first black captain at Notre Dame.

— Dick Jauron, running back, Yale: All-American and 1972 Ivy League player of the year.

— Clinton Jones, halfback, Michigan State: All-American helped the Spartans claim national titles in 1965 and ’66.

— Lincoln Kennedy, offensive tackle, Washington: Allowed just two sacks in four seasons.

— Rob Lytle, running back, Michigan: LSU coach Les Miles’ teammate, Bo Schembechler called him his greatest back.

— Michael Payton, quarterback, Marshall: 1992 Walter Payton Award winner.

— Art Still, defensive end, Kentucky: 1997 SEC defensive player of the year.

— Zach Thomas, linebacker, Texas Tech: Two-time All-American.

— Bill Snyder, coach, Kansas State: Led the Wildcats from an also-ran to national brand.

— Jim Tressel, coach, Ohio State and Youngstown State: Only coach to win Division I-A and I-AA national titles.

Oregon WR Darren Carrington suspended

Oregon wide receiver Darren Carrington is suspended for the national championship game because of a failed NCAA drug test, a person with direct knowledge of test results said Friday.

The person spoke to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity because of student privacy rules. The person said Carrington tested positive for marijuana. Team spokesman Andy McNamara confirmed that Carrington is not with the team but would not indicate why.

Carrington’s absence was first reported by CSNNW.com. The Ducks play Ohio State for the national championship on Monday.

Standing-room-only crowd Monday

CFP Executive Director Bill Hancock said he expects a crowd of about 75,000 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on Monday for the inaugural CFP National Championship Game between Sugar Bowl champion Ohio State and Rose Bowl winner Oregon.

The capacity of AT&T Stadium is highly flexible, from just over 70,000 to over 100,000, thanks in large part to standing-room-only areas on decks at each end of the stadium.

Hancock said standing-room-only tickets went on sale Thursday and will run through Sunday.

The SRO tickets are available only at the stadium — until someone puts them on a ticket broker site, of course — and go for $200 each.

What’s next?

Both teams arrived here Friday and will take part in media day activities Saturday before their first on-site practices. Ohio State will work out at AT&T Stadium, while Oregon practices at Euless Trinity High School.

The last word

“Thank you, my dear wife.”

— Snyder after his wife, Sharon, reminded him during the news conference he only mentioned four of their five children.

The Associated Press contributed to this report. Follow Scott Rabalais on Twitter: @RabalaisAdv.