FRISCO, Texas — Sam Houston State and two-time league champion Southeastern Louisiana combined to earn 21 of a possible 58 spots on the preseason All-Southland Conference football teams announced Wednesday.

Sam Houston State, which reached the FCS semifinals in 2014 for the third time in four seasons, had 13 players named to the first and second teams.

Two-time SLC champion Southeastern had eight players selected, including a pair of first-team picks — senior defensive backs Harlan Miller and Denzel Thompson.

Like Southeastern, Abilene Christian had a total of eight players chosen to the squad.

The preseason all-conference teams were released a week ahead of the league’s football media day, which will be held Wednesday at the L’auberge Resort in Lake Charles. The coaches and sports information directors preseason polls will be released on media day.

Sam Houston State had six first-team picks, a total matched by Northwestern State. The Demons’ Ed Eagan, a New Orleans native and Holy Cross graduate, earned three of the first-team spots as a wide receiver and all-purpose player on offense and as a punt returner.

McNeese State, which will play at LSU in its season opener on Sept. 5, had four first-team picks. Nicholls State had one in senior running back Michael Henry, a Baton Rouge native and former Episcopal High School standout.

First team


QB Jared Johnson, Jr. Sam Houston State

RB De’Andre Brown, So. Abilene Christian

RB Michael Henry, Sr. Nicholls State

TE/HB Cole Wick, Sr. Incarnate Word

WR Ed Eagan, Sr. Northwestern State

WR Reggie Begelton, Sr. Lamar

WR Cedric Gilbert, Sr. Abilene Christian

OL Donald Jackson III, Sr. Sam Housotn State

OL Byron Williams, Sr. Stephen F. Austin

OL Pace Murphy, Sr. Northwestern State

OLQuentin Marsh, Sr. McNeese State

OL Codey Funk, Jr. Abilene Christian

AP Ed Eagan, Sr. Northwestern State


DL P.J. Hall, So. Sam Houston State

DL Jonathan Woodard, Sr. Central Arkansas

DL Leroy Armstrong, Sr. Northwestern State

DL Corey Lee, Jr. Incarnate Word

LB Wallace Scott, Sr. McNeese State

LB Bo Brown, Sr. McNeese State

LB Myke Chatman, Jr. Sam Houston State

DB Trenier Orr, Sr. Sam Houston State

DB Harlan Miller, Sr. Southeastern

DB Denzel Thompson, Sr. Southeastern

DB Brent Spikes, Sr. McNeese State

DB Adam Jones, Jr. Northwestern State


K Luc Swimberghe, Jr. Sam Houston State

P Lachlan Edwards, Sr. Sam Houston State

KR Jatavious Wilson, Jr. Central Arkansas

PR Ed Eagan, Sr. Northwestern State

Second team


QB Zach Conque, Jr. Stephen F. Austin

RB Jalen Overstreet, Jr. Sam Houston State

RB Kade Harrington, Jr. Lamar

TE/HB Jamie Walker, Sr. Abilene Christian

WR Desmond Smith, Jr. Central Arkansas

WR LaDarius Brown, Sr. Sam Houston State

WR Yedidiah Louis, So. Sam Houston State

OL Brandon DeWitt, Jr. Sam Houston State

OL Riley Mayfield, So. Abilene Christian

OL Justin Brock, Sr. Lamar

OL Kyle Stouffer, Sr. Central Arkansas

OL Anthony Pullins, Jr. Stephen F. Austin

AP Xavier Roberson, Sr. Southeastern


DL Omar Tebo, Jr. Lamar

DL Mouf Adebo, Jr. Sam Housotn State

DL A.J. Bowen, Sr. Southeastern

DL Lance Skyler, Sr. Stephen F. Austin

LB Sam Denmark, So. Abilene Christian

LB Ricky Wyatt, Sr. Central Arkansas

LB Herbert Harris, Sr. Southeastern

DB Xavier Bethany, Jr. Lamar

DB Jordan Batiste, Sr. Southeastern

DB Micah Eugene, Sr. Southeastern

DB Mikell Everette, Sr. Sam Houston State

DB Dillion Winfrey, Sr. Central Arkansas


K Nik Grau, Jr. Abilene Christian

P Christian Guzman, So. Houston Baptist

KR Xavier Roberson, Sr. Southeastern

PR Jonathan Epps, Sr. Abilene Christian