Advocate file photo by MATTHEW HINTON -- New Tulane baseball coach David Pierce

LSU to host 2015 SEC softball tournament

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The athletic directors of the Southeastern Conference approved LSU as the host site for the 2015 SEC Softball Tournament, which will run May 6-9, 2015, at Tiger Park.

It is the second time the league’s marquee event will be held in Baton Rouge, and the first to be held in the new Tiger Park, as the last time the league’s top teams were featured was in 2008 in the final year of the old stadium.

“We are extremely excited to be the host of one of the premier events in college softball,” LSU softball coach Beth Torina said.

Tulane baseball team holds first meeting

With classes underway at Tulane, the Green Wave baseball program held its first meeting of the season Wednesday afternoon, giving new coach David Pierce and his staff an opportunity to meet with the returning players as well as the new faces.

Starting Thursday, the team will begin conditioning before moving into individual workouts next week. The squad will open fall practice on Sept. 15, the first possible day to do so.

Returning to the Green Wave are infield stalwarts Garrett Deschamp, Stephen Alemais, Hunter Hope and Jake Willsey.

Xavier adds two coaches, signee

Joseph Moses, coach of men’s and women’s cross country and track and field at Xavier, announced Wednesday two additions to his staff and one signee.

Joining the staff in 2014-15 are assistant coach Quinton Harley and student assistant Donyé Coleman. The signee is sprinter Destini Thomas of Houston.

Savoy signs with Xavier men’s basketball

Charles Savoy, a 6-foot-9 forward from Alpharetta, Georgia, signed a scholarship to play men’s basketball for Xavier.

Savoy is a transfer from NCAA Division II’s Tuskegee, where he played the past two seasons. Savoy will be a junior.

UL-Lafayette men’s tennis hosting tourney

LAFAYETTE — The defending Sun Belt Conference Louisiana-Lafayette men’s tennis team will host the Cajun Tennis Classic on Sept. 18-21.

Among the teams are No. 8 Texas (2014 Big 12 champions), No. 9 Georgia (2014 SEC champions), No. 13 Kentucky, No. 25 Oklahoma State, No. 30 Wake Forest, No. 46 LSU, No. 49 TCU and No. 61 UL-Lafayette (2014 Sun Belt champions).

Compiled from news releases