Covington’s Beau Briggs fired a 69-69-71 — 209 to win the boys 15-18-year-old age division at recent Mizuno USSSA Junior National championships at the Tournament Players Club of Louisiana in Avondale.

Marerro’s Steven Benoit (74-71-71 — 216) finished second in the 56-hole event, while Baton Rouge’s Matthew Jakubak (219) finished third.

In the boys 12-14 age division, Nicholas Arcement of Mathews fired a 216 to win the title, followed by Caleb Davern of Grove City, Ohio (220, +4) and Alexandria’s Charlie Flynn (222, +6).

Slidell’s Logan Batiste shot a 117 in the 27-hole boys 9-11 age division to win the title, while Lafayette’s Canon Clark (121) finished second. Kale Fontenot of Lafayette and Peyton Canter of St. Amant (127) tied for third.

Brooke Duzan (239) won the girls 15-18 division, while Brooke Tyree (230) won the girls 12-14 group. Both golfers are from Sulphur.

In the girls 9-11 age division, Emily McLatchey of Winter Park, Florida, won her second straight national title with a 126 in the 27-hole event. Cassidy Lambert of Grenta (133) was second, while Alexis Gonzalez of Baton Rouge (149) was third.

State and regional champion Jamison Thomassee of Opelousas won the points title in the boys 15-18 division, while Roberto Espinosa of Arnaudville won the boys 12-14 points championship. St. Amant’s Canter won the boys 9-11 points title.

Duzan (girls 15-18) and Tyree (girls 12-14) won points titles, while state champion Cassidy Lambert of Gretna claimed the girls 9-11 points title.

CASTRO, CAMPBELL WIN PELICAN POINT TITLES: Paul Castro and Chester Campbell were the winners of the recent Pelican Point Men’s Golf Association Club championship.

Castro was the overall gross champion, while Campbell was the overall net champion.

In the championship flight, Ryan Schulz has the second-place gross score, followed by Shawn Kjar

Jeff Powell hadf the top net score, followed by Jay Leblanc.

Don Berrigan had the top gross score in the first flight, followed by Scott Waguespack. Marvin Leblanc had the top net score, followed by Russell Williams.

In the second flight, Steve Martin had the winning gross score, followed by Ed Amedee. Jason Leblanc had the winning net score, followed by Hubby Lavigne.

DJ Johnson had the top gross score in the third flight, followed by Jim Whiddon, while Guy Schexnaydre and Dean Millet finished first and second in net score.

In the fourth flight, Jason Ambeau had the first-place gross score, followed by Brian Harrison. Jared Mullins had the top net score, followed by Frankie Schmitt.

Campbell had the winning gross score in the fourth flight, followed by Pete Robbins, while Gordon Stephen had the first-place net score, and Ken Cook was second.


SCHWAB, DOAN WIN TITLES: Hayley Schwab and Conor Doan were the overall winners of the Club South Runners Hump Day Summer Series Race No. 5 held August 6 at Beauvoir Park.

Schwab was the overall femal winner of the two-mile event in 12 minutes, three seconds. Doan’s time was not available.

Anna Rea (3:30) and Logan Beane (3:05) were the overall winners in the half-mile event.