KAMLOOPS, British Columbia, Canada — Nicholls State University javelin thrower Jaimee Springer took second place in the javelin to help lead Team Alberta to the championship at the 2011 Western Canada Summer Games.

The event pits Canada’s western provinces and territories against each other in Olympic style competition.

Springer threw 139 feet 8.0 inches to earn 18 points.

LSU track and field athletes honored

Ten LSU track and field athletes were named All-Academic honorees by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association.

The 10 athletes are seniors Mark DeBlanc, Melissa Ogbourne, Kyle Rose and Ross Roubion; juniors Rachel Laurent, Aaron Moore and Ryan Roubion; sophomores Joseph Caraway and Laura Carleton; and redshirt freshman Daniel Obioha.

To qualify for USTFCCCA All-Academic status, student-athletes must maintain a 3.25 cumulative grade-point average during their collegiate careers.

They also must finish the regular season indoors ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or in the top 48 in a relay event, or participate in any round of an event at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Championships.

Pender Harbour wins at Breeders

TORONTO — Pender Harbour held off Celtic Conviction by a nose Sunday to win the $500,000 Breeders’ Stakes turf race at Woodbine Racetrack.

The victory made Luis Contreras the first jockey to win all three Canadian Triple Crown events with two horses. He captured the Queen’s Plate aboard Inglorious before adding the Prince of Wales Stakes and Breeders’ Stakes events with Pender Harbour.

Pender Harbour covered the 1? miles on turf in 2 minutes 36.31 seconds, coming from almost 15 lengths back.

Nyad prepares to swim Florida Straits

HAVANA — U.S. endurance swimmer Diana Nyad is making final preparations for her bid to become the first person to swim the Florida Straits without the aid of a shark cage.

Nyad is spending the day eating, hydrating and meeting with members of her support team ahead of the 103-mile (166-kilometer) swim from Havana to the Florida Keys.

The 61-year-old swimmer will be accompanied by 45 people on five boats during the trip, which is expected to take about 60 hours.

Special equipment will surround her with an electric current that Nyad won’t notice, but will keep most sharks at bay. Divers will be at hand to discourage those that get curious.

Stepanek upsets Monfils in final

WASHINGTON — Unseeded Radek Stepanek’s net-charging style carried him to the Legg Mason Tennis Classic title at age 32, making him the tournament’s oldest champion since Jimmy Connors was 35 in 1988.

Stepanek won an ATP final for the first time in 2? years by upsetting top-seeded Gael Monfils of France 6-4, 6-4 Sunday at the hard-court tuneup for the U.S. Open.

“We are like a wine: The older we are getting, the better we are,” Stepanek said with a smile.

“It’s a great feeling to be able to compete with the young guys and still beat them,” added the Czech, who is eight years older than Monfils.

Stepanek won the point on 29 of his 39 trips to the net. Monfils, in contrast, stayed close to the baseline and made it forward only four times.

Venus Williams out of Rogers Cup

TORONTO — Venus Williams withdrew from the Rogers Cup due to an illness Sunday.

Williams said she wasn’t feeling well, so she went to see the doctor Sunday. She was diagnosed with a viral illness and said she is “extremely disappointed” she won’t be able to play in Toronto.

Qualifier Zhang Shuai steps into Williams’ first-round match Tuesday against Ana Ivanovic. Lourdes Dominguez Lino got the extra spot in the draw.

The strong Rogers Cup field still includes Williams’ sister, Serena, and Caroline Wozniacki, Maria Sharapova and Kim Clijsters.

Radwanska beats No. 3 Zvonareva

CARLSBAD, Calif. — Agnieszka Radwanska of Poland won her first tournament title in more than three years with a 6-3, 6-4 victory over third-ranked Vera Zvonareva in the Mercury Insurance Open final on Sunday.

The third-seeded Radwanska used a steady all-around game and took advantage of Zvonareva’s inconsistent play to win her first title since she took the Eastbourne grass event in June 2008.