LAFAYETTE - The University of Louisiana at Lafayette had 11 players selected to the All-Sun Belt football team - the highest total number of selections since joining the conference in 2001 - the conference office announced on Wednesday.

ULL had five players earn first-team honors, including tight end Ladarius Green, who is making his third straight appearance on the All-SBC team.

Joining Green on the first team are wide receiver Javone Lawson, linebacker Lance Kelley, cornerback Dwight “Bill” Bentley and defensive end Bernard Smith.

ULL running back Alonzo Harris picked up SBC Freshman of the Year honors, becoming only the second ULL athlete to earn the recognition with former Cajuns running back Tyrell Fenroy.

ULL quarterback Blaine Gautier and offensive tackle Leonardo Bates were both tabbed to the SBC second team, while Brett Baer was selected as both the second team punter and kicker.

Cornerback Melvin White and linebacker Devon Lewis-Buchanan were honorable mention selections.

Arkansas State’s Ryan Aplin and Brandon Joiner were named SBC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively.

Aplin helped ASU to the outright Sun Belt championship as the Red Wolves became the first team in the Sun Belt’s 11-year history to win 10 regular-season games.

Joiner ranked fourth in the nation in sacks, while also being among the national leaders in tackles for loss.

Western Kentucky’s Bobby Rainey was named the Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year after helping the Hilltoppers to a 7-1 record in Sun Belt play and a second-place finish in the league. The senior running back ranks first nationally in net rushing yards and second in average rushing yards per game.

ASU’s Hugh Freeze, who was named head coach at Ole Miss earlier this week, was named the Sun Belt Conference’s Coach of the Year.

Louisiana-Monoroe defensive end Ken Dorsey and safety Darius Prelow are two of six Warhawks to earn All-SBC honors.

Dorsey and Prelow, who were both second-team selections last season, represented the record-breaking ULM defense on the first team this season.

Receiver Brent Leonard and return specialist Luther Ambrose were named to the second team, while linebacker Jason Edwards and defensive end Troy Evans were honorable mention selections.

First Team


QB - Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State, Jr.

RB - Lance Dunbar, North Texas, Sr.

RB - Bobby Rainey, WKU, Sr.

WR - Dwayne Frampton, Arkansas State, Sr.

WR - T.Y. Hilton, FIU, Sr.

WR - Javone Lawson, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.

TE - Ladarius Green, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr.

OL - Tom Castilaw, Arkansas State, Sr.

OL - Colin Boss, Middle Tennessee, Sr.

OL - Matt Tomlinson, North Texas, Sr.

OL - Wes Jeffries, WKU, Sr.

OL - James Brown, Troy, Sr.


DL - Brandon Joiner, Arkansas State, Sr.

DL - Bernard Smith, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr.

DL - Ken Dorsey, Louisiana-Monroe, Sr.

DL - Jonathan Massaquoi, Troy, Jr.

LB - Demario Davis, Arkansas State, Sr.

LB - Lance Kelley, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr.

LB - Andrew Jackson, WKU, So.

DB - Darryl Feemster, Arkansas State, Sr.

DB - Kelcie McCray, Arkansas State, Sr.

DB - Dwight “Bill” Bentley, Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr.

DB - Darius Prelow, Louisiana-Monroe, Sr.

Special teams

PK - Jack Griffin, FIU, Jr.

P - Will Atterberry, North Texas, Jr.

RS - T.Y. Hilton, FIU, Sr.

All-Purpose - T.Y. Hilton, FIU, Sr.

Second team


QB - Blaine Gautier, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.

RB - Alfred Morris, Florida Atlantic, Sr.

RB - Kedrick Rhodes, FIU, So.

WR - Josh Jarboe, Arkansas State, Jr.

WR - Brent Leonard, Louisiana-Monroe, Jr.

WR - Eric Thomas, Troy, So.

TE - Jack Doyle, WKU, Jr.

OL - Delano Moore, Arkansas State, Sr.

OL - Caylin Hauptmann, FIU, Jr.

OL - Leonardo Bates, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.

OL - Brandon McLeroy, Middle Tennessee, Sr.

OL - Adam Smith, WKU, Jr.


DL - Dorvus Woods, Arkansas State, Sr.

DL - Tourek Williams, FIU, Jr.

DL - Brandon Akpunku, North Texas, Sr.

DL - Quanterus Smith, WKU, Jr.

LB - Nathan Herrold, Arkansas State, Jr.

LB - Winston Fraser, FIU, Jr

LB - Zachary Orr, North Texas, So.

DB - Darron Edwards, Arkansas State, Sr.

DB - Jonathan Cyprien, FIU, Jr.

DB - Brynden Trawick, Troy, Jr.

DB - Derrius Brooks, WKU, Sr.

Special teams

PK - Brett Baer, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.

P - Brett Baer, Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr.

RS - Luther Ambrose, ULM, Sr.

All-Purpose - Dwayne Frampton, Arkansas State, Sr.

Honorable mention

Taylor Stockemer (Arkansas State, Jr., WR); Neely Sullivent (Arkansas State, Sr., P); Sam McRoy (Florida Atlantic, Sr., OL); Randell Johnson (Florida Atlantic, So., LB); Rupert Bryan (FIU, Jr., OL); James Jones (FIU, Sr., DL); Devon Lewis-Buchanan (Louisiana-Lafayette, LB, Sr.); Melvin White (Louisiana-Lafayette, DB, Sr.); Omar McLendon (Middle Tennessee, Jr., DL); Eric Russell (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DB/RS); Troy Evans (ULM, Sr., DL); Jason Edwards (ULM, Sr., LB); Cyril Lemon (North Texas, Fr., OL); Brelan Chancellor (North Texas, So., AP); Tony Davis (Troy, Jr., DL); Kanorris Davis (Troy, Jr., LB); Jared Clendenin (WKU, Sr., DL); Bo Adebayo (WKU, Sr., DL)

Special honors

Player of the Year: Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State

Offensive Player of the Year: Bobby Rainey, WKU

Defensive Player of the Year: Brandon Joiner, Arkansas State

Freshman of the Year: Alonzo Harris, Louisiana-Lafayette

Coach of the Year: Hugh Freeze, Arkansas State