Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley and Florida State defensive back Lamarcus Joyner are among five finalists for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy for national defensive player of the year.

Also chosen as finalists by the Football Writers Association of America were Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Missouri defensive end Michael Sam and Michigan State cornerback Darqueze Dennard. The award will be presented Dec. 9.

Mosley leads No. 1 Alabama in tackles with 79 and has broken up five passes.

Joyner has 51 tackles for Florida State, including 6½ for loss, and had forced three fumbles.

Donald leads the country in tackles for loss with 22½, including 10 sacks. Sam has three three-sack games and scored a touchdown on a fumble return. Dennard has three interceptions and seven pass breakups.

Lombardi Award

Finalists announced: UCLA linebacker Anthony Barr, Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald, Alabama linebacker C.J. Mosley and Missouri defensive end Michael Sam were named finalists for the Lombardi Award for college football’s best lineman or linebacker.

Barr has 50 tackles, four forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries.

Sam leads the Southeastern Conference in tackles for losses with 16 and sacks with 10 and he returned a fumble for a touchdown.

The winner will be announced in Houston on Dec. 11.

Around the nation

Two former college football players filed a federal lawsuit in Atlanta this week, saying the NCAA didn’t inform players about the risks of head injuries and should provide medical monitoring for former players. The lawsuit was filed Monday by former Georgia Tech defensive back Jerry Caldwell and former Georgia player Johnny Brown. ... The Pac-12 reprimanded Washington coach Steve Sarkisian for comments he made about officiating and for revealing private communications he had with conference officials. Sarkisian had complained about the officiating in Washington’s 41-31 loss against UCLA. ... Kentucky has suspended DB Cody Quinn and DE Jason Hatcher for Saturday’s game at Georgia. WR Demarco Robinson is suspended indefinitely. ... Akron coach Terry Bowden has received a two-year contract extension that runs through 2018.