A pair of foursomes from the Baton Rouge and New Orleans areas competed in the Liberty Mutual Insurance Invitational National Finals at Pinehurst Resort in Pinehurst, N.C., over the weekend.

Danny McMyne of Kenner, Tommy Doiron of Baton Rouge, Jules Pechon of Kenner and Donnie McMyne of Kenner qualified for the national event by winning the Liberty Mutual Insurance Invitational at Golfcrest Country Club in Houston in October.

Also, Bob David of Lafayette, Matt Heinz of Baton Rouge, Gus Rantz IV of Lafayette and Ashley Rhoney of Lafayette qualified by winning the Liberty Mutual Insurance Invitational held at The Country Club of Louisiana.

The golfers were among 240 amateur golfers competing in the event.

MATHERNE TAKES PELICAN POINT EVENT: Pat Matherne won the championship flight of the SMGA Chicago Points golf tournament Saturday at Pelican Point.

Wayne Grip, Charles Huggins and Michael King tied for second in the championship flight.

Jim Heno won the first flight, followed by CT Lutrell, Jim Mittica and Kenny Riley.

HEINE WINS U.S. KIDS GOLF TOURNAMENT: Ava Heine of Baton Rouge won her first U.S. Kids Golf tournament recently at Beau Chene Country Club in Mandeville.

Heine birdied the last hole to shoot at 9-hole score of 48 to win the girls 8-9 year-old division.

Teagan Conners of New Orleans (52) was second, while Catherine Lapeyre of New Orleans (54) was third. Kendal Drezins of Slidell (57) finished fourth.


SPRING FLING WINNERS NAMED: Bayou Vista’s Tim Gilmore defeated Bayou Vista’s Dudley Michel in a 40-shoe playoff to claim the Harahan Spring Fling title Saturday at Kemper Williams Park in Patterson.

Gilmore won the Class A title, followed by Michel and Pat Pertuit of Marerro.

Morgan City’s Burnie Williams went 5-0 to take the Class B title, while Bobbie Richard of Church Point was second and Wanda Lantz of Harahan third.

In Class C, Dwain Arceneaux of Thibodaux captured the championship, followed by Larry Pertuit of Marerro and Tim Hayles of Berwick.

Kenner’s Gil Gerard defeated Ron Smith of Lake Charles in a 40-shoe playoff to win the Class D title, while Tracy Verret of Bayou Vista was third.

Mike Fonseca of Harahan defeated Chris Rogers of Morgan City in a 40-shoe playoff to take the Class E crown, and Hilton Rhodes of Morgan City was third.