Louisiana Volleyball’s Asics Louisiana Elite 14s team captured its second AAU national championship in Orlando, Florida, last week.

They are coached by Danny Tullis, the coach of Division IV state champion Pope John Paul II. Team members are from Lafayette and the Northshore area.

Lafayette-area players are Addie Vidrine, Hannah Mattke, Alaina Hardy and Jolie Hildago, and the Northshore-area players are Ansley Tullis, Rachel Tabor, Allee Morris, Olivia Gaudin, Grace Lagalante, Mia Chiota and Kendall Battistella.

Vidrine, Tabor and Tullis were also named to the All-American team. Tullis was also the MVP. This is Vidrine and Tabor’s second All-American selection and Tullis’ third.


LOUISIANA CUP WINNERS NAMED: Trey Morse of New Orleans fired a 152 with four birdies to win the boys 12-14-year-old age division championship at last week’s Louisiana Cup at the Country Club of Louisiana.

The event is part of the Louisiana USSSA Junior Golf Tour.

Carson Caruso of Greenwell Springs (159) finished second in the division, followed by Jake Marler of Shreveport (164).

Lafayette’s Kale Fontenot (82) won the boys 9-11 division, while Lafayette’s Canon Clark (87) was second.

Kylie O’Brien of Zachary (192) held off Denham Springs’ Caroline Covington by one stroke to win the girls 12-14 title.

Jancen Brown of Baton Rouge and Kyle Estay of Lockport (155) tied for second place in the boys 15-18 division behind Skylar Petroski (150) of Orange, Texas.

CALDERA WINS WEBB MEMORIAL TITLE: Dante Caldera fired rounds of 77 and 66 to win the championship flight of the Webb Memorial Championship.

Wendell Akins (66-69—137) finished second in the championship flight, followed by Landon Covington (68-70 — 138) and Connor Johnson (68-74 — 142).

Phil Schmitt (74-69 — 143) won the first flight, followed by Shane Starns (74-72 — 146), Chuck Laudermill (73-73 — 146) and Dennis Brown (73-76 — 149).

Wade Gautreau (76-74 — 150) captured the second flight, while Randall Little (76-74 — 150) was second, David Knight (77-74 — 151) was third and Darrell Lakvold (77-74 — 151) was fourth.

Parker Johnson (79-71 — 150) took the third flight, followed by Mpho Mmopi (82-73 — 155), Clint Skinner (79-77 — 156) and Jessey Eussay (80-79 — 159).

Chuck Danna (84-78 — 162) took the fourth flight, while Justin Hutchinson (84-79 — 163) was second, Lenny Comeaux (85-79 — 164) finished third and David Hoffmann (84-81 — 165) was fourth.

David Morel (89-82 — 171) won the fifth flight, followed by Lyle Walker (91-83 — 174), Robert Young (89-91 — 178) and Mike Weeks (87-91 — 178).

MILLER, HUFFTY POST LOW TEAM SCORE IN DUMAS GOLF LEAGUE: The team of Jason Miller and Warren Huffty had a 32 for the low team score in Week 5 play of the FireQuest Dumas Golf League at Dumas Golf Club.

Jason Arms and Roy Gay (33) finished second.

The format is a two-player blind best ball over nine holes.

Leroy George had a 34 for the low round, followed by Jason Arms (35).

DAWSON ODUMS TOURNEY WINNERS NAMED: The team of Henry Pointer, Ed Mitchell, Dawson Odums and Morgan Miley fired a 57 to win the Dawson Odums Golf tournament at Copper Mill.

The format was a four-player scramble over 18 holes

The team of Scott Haynie, Alex Bookter, Don Breaux and Jason Miller shot a 59 to finish second.


MICHEL WINS TITLE: Dudley Michel of Bayou Vista won the Class A and tournament championship of the Bayou Horseshoe Pitchers Association Memorial tournament held June 13 at Kemper Williams Park in Patterson.

Michel defeated Pat Pertuit of Marrero in a 40-shoe playoff for the title. Tim Gilmore of Bayou Vista finished third.

Kevin Dore of Patterson won the Class B title with a 40-shoe playoff win over Jimmy Percle of Morgan City. Bill Seither of Buras finished third.

A.J. Duplantier of Harahan went 5-0 to take the Class C title, while Ryan Fryou of Berwick was second and Julius Lovell of Bayou L’Ourse was third.

Hilton Rhodes of Bayou Vista took the Class D title in his first tournament. Greg Smith of Lake Charles was second, followed by Mike Fonseca of Harahan.