Paul Castro was the overall gross champion and Jay Leblanc was the overall net champion of the Pelican Point Men’s Club Championship.

Joey Partin had the second-place gross score in the championship flight, followed by Ryan Schulz. Mark Bridges had the second-place net score, followed by Sam Lavigne.

Miles Holley had the first-place gross score in the first flight, followed by Scott Waguespack. Mike Lee had the top net score in the first flight, followed by Tony Frederic.

In the second flight, Clay Waddell had the first-place gross score, while Don Berrigan was second. Jason Adams had the first-place net score, followed by DJ Johnson.

Aaron McKenna had the first-place gross score in the third flight, followed by Ricky Carter. Guy Schexnaydre had the winning net score, followed by Nick Templet.

In the fourth flight, Vijay Kotian had the first-place gross score, followed by Glenn Schexnayder. Steve Burt had the first-place net scored, followed by Curtis Domingue.

HOWELL PARK BEST BALL WINNERS NAMED: The team of Tim Town, Warren Huffty, Al Bell and Jason Miller had a score of 32 to win the Howell Park Weekly Best Ball event Thursday.

The event featured a 9-hole blind draw best ball.

The team of Cliff Stewart, Noland Turner, Rob Dunn and Les Johnson had a 30 for second place, while the team of Mike Thomas, Don Raby, Kelly Wall and Alex Bookter finished third with a 30.

Tim Town had the best low round at 35, while Cliff Stewart had a 36.

WALL, HILL TAKE HOWELL PARK SUNDAY TOURNEY HONORS: Kelly Wall had a low front-nine score of 35, while Lam Hill had a low- back nine score of 33 to take top honors at the Howell Park Weekly Sunday tournament.

The format features low 18-hole score, low front, low back and low round.

Hill also had the top 18-hole score (72). Wall (74) was second after winning a playoff over Brian Green.


MUSTANGS WIN USA ASA JUNIOR OLYMPIC CUP: The Wichita Mustangs, featuring several players from the Acadiana area, went 8-0 to win the USA ASA Junior Olympic Cup tournament in Chino Hills, California.

Team members include: Taylor Edwards (Sam Houston High), Mayci Omli, Ryleigh Buck, Julia Cotrill, Taryn Antoine (Alexandria High) Talli Shepherd, Miranda Rohleder, Wylie Glover, Tanner Wright (Sam Houston High), Reagan Hathaway, Sydney Smith, Taylor Satchell (Notre Dame High), Elise LeBeouf (Notre Dame High), Maura Glatzak, Kiley Naomi (Comeaux High) and Abby Trahan (Kaplan High).

The team is coached by head coach Mark Griggs, Jessi Haffner, Sandra Simmons and Jeff Cotrill.

Track and field

BROOKS MEDALS IN JUNIOR OLYMPICS DEBUT: Kennedi Brooks, an 11-year-old sixth-grader at University High, won the silver medal in the high jump in her first AAU Junior Olympics earlier this month in Hampton Roads, Virginia.

Brooks had a mark of 4 feet, 7 inches in the high jump. She finished 19th in the nation in the 80-meter hurdles (15.06) and 16th (13-11) in the long jump.


SID PLOTT TOURNAMENT WINNERS NAMED: Dudley Michel of Bayou Vista went 4-1 to win the Class A title at the Sid Plott Memorial Horseshoe tournament in Welsh.

Bayou Vista’s Tim Gilmore was second in Class A, followed by Ricky Richard of Church Point.

Church Point’s Bobbie Richard went 5-0 to win the Class B title, followed by Lacassine’s Sharla Fontenot and Roland Bertrand of Bell City.

Randy Giroir of Berwick won the Class C title, followed by Larry Pertuit of Marrero and Allen Duplantis of Lacassine. Cheryl Matt of Lake Charles captured the Class D title, followed by Danny Navarre of Sulphur and Ivory Hilliard of Patterson. Sulphur’s Benita Williams won the Class E title, followed by Greg Smith and Ruby Navarre, both of Lake Charles.