Will Power

Power, a native of Toowoomba, Australia, finished as the championship runner-up in 2010, 2011 and 2012. He finally got the championship monkey off his back last year, and he’s on the pole for Sunday’s season opener at St. Petersburg.

Power has been known as a road and street course ace with limited oval success, but he has improved his oval skills since he joined Team Penske in 2009. He won a 500 mile race at Fontana, California, and dominated a 250 mile race at Milwaukee last year, a race that made him proclaim, “Yes! I love winning on ovals! I love winning on ovals!’

Scott Dixon

Dixon won the series championship in 2003, 2008 and 2013 for Chip Ganassi Racing. He won the Indianapolis 500 in 2008. Dixon has 35 victories, tying him for fifth with three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Bobby Unser for all-time wins among IndyCar drivers.

Dixon’s biggest skill was honed while testing Toyota racing engines back in the early 2000s. He has been known to save more fuel than anybody else on the grid, being able to make a fuel run last an extra few miles past what most other drivers can.

Ryan Hunter-Reay

Hunter-Reay is a classic American success story. He was a driver without a full-time ride after the 2008 season and switched teams in 2009. His determination led him to a drive with Andretti Autosport, where despite not having a guarantee of a full-season drive, he was able to pull off a win at the Long Beach Grand Prix.

After winning three races in the latter half of 2012, Hunter-Reay was able to win the championship at the final race of the season that saw Power take his championship hopes to the wall. Last year, he added an Indianapolis 500 victory and is looking to be one of the top Honda runners.