Robbie White fired a 70 to win the championship flight of the Dumas Jaguar Open at Dumas Golf Club in Baker on Saturday.

The tournament format was individual stroke play.

Don Breaux (75) was second in the championship flight, followed by Crosby Lyman (76).

Paul Gray (86) won the first flight, while Bret St. Germain (86) was second and Jerome Chambers (87) third.

In the second flight, Charlie Holmes (89) took first place, followed by Don Baker (89) and Al Patterson (89).

Breaux (75) won the BREC flight, followed by Jason Miller (79) and Charles Marquette (80).

The team of John Steen and Art Lyons shot a 69 to win the super senior scramble, followed by Jan Miller and Charles Cranford (70).


CORSO WINS ST. JUDE TITLE: Edie Corso of Destrehan went 7-0 to win the Class A and tournament titles in the St. Jude Fall Horseshoe tournament fundraiser sponsored by the Bayou Horseshoe Pitchers Association on Saturday at Kemper Williams Park in Patterson.

Pat Pertuit of Marerro was second in Class A, followed by Al Dodson of Morgan City.

Linda Dodson of Morgan City won the Class B title, followed by O.J. Cole of Centerville and Jimmy Percle of Morgan City.

Pierre Part’s Clyde Landry went 7-0 to take the Class C title, while Burnie Williams of Morgan City was second, and Gerald Prados of Centerville was third.

In Class D, Justin Habetz of Sulphur defeated Cheryl Matt of Lake Charles in a 40-shoe playoff to win the title. Ron Smith of Lake Charles was third.

BHPA publicity chairman Tim Gilmore announced the BHPA will be donating $900 to St. Jude Hospital.

GILMORE WINS PLOTT TOURNAMENT: Tim Gilmore of Bayou Vista went 5-0 to win the Class A title and tournament championship in the Sid Plott Memorial Horseshoe tournament Aug. 16 in Welsh.

Morgan City’s Angela Percle finished second in the class, followed by Ron Latiolais of Gonzales.

In Class B, Charles Savoy of Jennings won the title, followed by Kevin Dore of Patterson and Bobbie Richard of Church Point.

Bill Seither of Boothville-Venice won the Class C title, while Mack Thibodeaux of Lake Arthur was second and Tanner Pousson of Lacassine finished third.

In Class D, Loren Williams of Sulphur defeated Ryan Fryou of Berwick in a 40-shoe playoff to win the class title after the two were tied to end regulation. Gaylin Habetz of Sulphur was third.

Cheryl Matt of Lake Charles won the Class E title, followed by Danny Navarre and Ruby Navarre, both of Sulphur.


Results of recreational, competitive or age-group sports can be sent via email to or by fax to (225) 388-0318.

Call (225) 383-1111 to confirm receipt.

Results may be dropped off at The Advocate, 7290 Bluebonnet Blvd. (marked WEEKLY WRAPUP).

Information must be received by noon the Monday following the event.

Include as much information as possible, and provide first names. Also list the work and home phone numbers of the person providing the results in case more information is needed.