Lake Charles Country Club went wire-to-wire to win the LGA club team championship title at Money Hill Golf and Country Club in Abita Springs over the weekend.

It was the first LGA club team title in the club’s 97-year history.

The six-man team of Billy Gabbert, Robby Going, Doug Quienalty, Hank Shaheen, Greg Sonnier and Tyler Terry shot a 3-over-par 291 in Sunday’s individual stroke play final round. That, coupled with their 15-under 129 in Saturday’s four-ball round, let the team finish at 12-under 420 to win by four strokes over 2015 champion Oakbourne Country Club of Lafayette.

Oakbourne’s team featured David Church, Ricky Parvino, Jody Lormand, Robert Shelton, John Talley and Ben Thibeaux. Hebert Municipal Golf Club of Lafayette finished third with a 428 from David Duhon, James Hamilton, Paul Hamilton, Ted Weber, Thad Weber and Todd Weber.

PELICAN POINT PAR 3 WINNERS: The team of Jeremy Ornelas and Ethan Babin had the first-place gross score, while Guy Schexnaydre and Brian Harrison turned in the top net score in the first flight in the Par 3 event Friday at Pelican Point.

Also in the first flight, Larry Templet and Randy Stephens had the second-place gross score, and Daniel Louque and Bruce Palmer had the second-place net score.

In the second flight, Aaron Bourque and Tim Bourque had the first-place gross score, while Charles Huggins and CT Luttrell had the top net score.

Chester Campbell and Sam Decoteau turned in the second-place gross score, while Robbie Cliburn and David Cliburn had the second-place net score.

BAYOU ST. JOHN WINNERS NAMED: Sandy Cannella shot a low gross score of 75 to win the top prize in the Bayou St. John Ladies Golf Club’s April showers tournament at the North Course in City Park.

Paula Hidalgo captured low net with a 61, one stroke better than Mary Dares and Sana Winck, who tied for second low net. Mary Dares was closest to the hole.

REMINGTON-REMO WINS WESTDALE LGA EVENT: Michelle Remington-Remo fired a 143 and won a scorecard playoff over Tina Chin-Griffin to win the Westdale Ladies Golf Association’s annual handicap tournament (net score) at Webb Park.

In Division A, April Prestenbach was the longest drive winner, Morgan was the closest to the pin winner and Flack (29) was the fewest putts winner.

In Division B, Thelma Price had the longest drive and was closest to the pin, while Rose Berggren (32) had the fewest putts.


DODSONS WIN MIXED DOUBLES TITLE: The team of Al and Linda Dodson of Morgan City took first place in the Class A division and claimed the tournament championship at the Louisiana State Horseshoe Pitchers Association state mixed doubles championships at Kemper Williams Park in Patterson.

Jack Caudle and Marie Stump of Shreveport finished second in Class A.

Burnie Williams of Morgan City and Elisha Adkison of Monroe went 5-0 to win the Class B title, while Nancy Woods and Artie McMullen of Monroe finished second.

Junior McGowin and Tina Stanley of Monroe went 5-0 to take the Class C title, while Nelda Addison and James Breedlove of Shreveport finished second.

Erica Noblit of Monroe and Hilton Rhodes of Bayou Vista went 5-0 to win the Class D crown, while Rene’ White and Robert Mayes of Shreveport finished second.