NATCHITOCHES — New Orleans businessman Milton Retif is the 2013 recipient of the Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award presented by the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame.

Retif, 80, has a lifelong record of sports leadership and accomplishment, along with being a benefactor of high school, college and amateur sports in New Orleans. He will be among the 11 honorees at the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Induction Dinner and Ceremonies on June 29 at the Natchitoches Events Center.

Louisiana sport stars Ronald Ardoin, Tommy Hodson, Ervin Johnson, James Jones, Anna Koll, Kevin Mawae, Shaquille O’Neal, Chanda Rubin and Ed “Skeets” Tuohy are the nine athletes and coaches who will enter the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame this summer.

The Dave Dixon Louisiana Sports Leadership Award is presented annually by the LSWA’s 30-member Hall of Fame selection committee to an individual who has played a decisive role as a sports leader or administrator benefiting Louisiana and/or bringing credit to Louisiana on the national and international level.

Dixon Award winners are enshrined as Hall of Fame members and will be recognized in the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame Museum.

The award is named in honor of Hall of Famer Dave Dixon, the driving force behind bringing the NFL to Louisiana with the creation of the New Orleans Saints franchise. Dixon is also considered the “father” of the Mercedez-Benz Louisiana Superdome, developing the concept for the innovative domed structure and pushing state officials for its construction in the late 1960s.

Retif is a member of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame as an athlete, coach and civic contributor.

Retif is a former all-state infielder at Jesuit and was also a team captain of the Tulane baseball team in the early 1950s. Retif saved the Tulane program with financial contributions in 1966 when Tulane considered making baseball a club sport.

He took over the program a year later as an unpaid head coach and built a 123-73 (.628) record and coached the Wave to national prominence including a No. 1 national ranking in 1971.