Blaine Patin of Greenwell Springs and Darrell Lakvold of Baton Rouge fired a 9-under-par 63 and finished with a 15-under par 129 total to win the Louisiana Golf Association 4-Ball championship on Sunday at Oak Wing Golf Course in Alexandria.

Patin and Lakvold, who entered the final round in a four-way tie for first place, won by two strokes over Chuck Spears of Pineville and Frank Brame of Alexandria.

Billy Gabbert of Sulphur and Shane Fontenot of Lake Charles (65-67—132) and 2012 4-Ball champions John Humphries of Woodworth and Shane Fontenot of Lake Charles (65-67—132) tied for third, while KP Miles and Justin Lowe of Pineville (65-68—133) finished fifth.

NELSON WINS FIREQUEST BRITISH OPEN: Danny Nelson fired a 68 and defeated Jeremy Gautreaux on the first playoff hole to win the championship flight of the Firequest British Open at Dumas Golf Club in Baker on Saturday.

Shane Starns (70) finished third in the championship flight, followed by Mike Drury (70).

In the first flight, Morgan Miley (78) won a playoff over Jason Riche to take first place, while BJ Andrews (80) was third, and Kelvin Price (80) finished fourth.

Matthew Fortier (86) won a playoff over Ricky Simmons to take the second flight, while Charles Morris (86) was third and Christopher Bell (87) was fourth.

Jason Miller (76) won the BREC flight, followed by Miley (78) and Bret St. Germain (82).

Ginger Vann won the ladies flight.

PELICAN POINT CHICAGO POINTS WINNERS NAMED: Brian Harrison won the individual title in the recent Pelican Point Men’s Golf Association Chicago Points event.

Paul Castro and Joe Leblanc tied for second, while Carl Amedee and Hubby Lavigne tied for fourth.

Sixth place went to Jeff Powell, and Tony Frederic, Steve Ryan, Malcom Dugas, Jim Whiddon and Keith Falgoust tied for seventh.

In the team division, Dugas and Castro took first place, followed by Powell and Lavigne.

Harrison and Myles Holley finished third, followed by Jason and Joe Leblanc, Amedee and Frankie Schmitt and Steve Martin and Ricky Carter.

Seventh place went to David Amedee and Jim Whiddon, while Falgoust and David Burch finished eighth. Doyle Philippe and Brent Broussard, Clay Wadell and Frederic and Steve Ryan and Jerry Flood tied for ninth.

LEARY WINS PELICAN POINT JUNIOR TITLE: Logan Leary fired a 67 to win the Pelican Point Junior Club Championship.

Joey Partin (75) finished second in the 18-hole event in the 12-years-and-older division. Sam Dupeire (90) finished third, followed by Jacob Goff (91).

In the 12-year-old division (five holes), Aidan Leblanc and Connor Adams (31) tied for first.

Andrew Wright (38) won the 8-11-year-old division (five holes), while Mason Leblanc (40) was second, Jacob Leblanc (43) third, Elijah Leblanc (45) fourth and Brandon Turk (46) fifth.

The 7-and-younger age division was contested over three holes with Drew Prieto (18) winning the title. Dylan Dawson (21) was second.


JACK HAMMERS WIN WORLD SERIES: The Central-based Jack Hammers Orange, a 14-and-under team, won four straight games to win the USSSA Global World Series in Gulf Shores, Alabama, last weekend.

The Hammers came through the losers bracket on the final day, defeating Hunter Pence Baseball Academy of Houston 9-8 to win the tournament.

Offensively, the Hammers were led by Elijah Ramos (two home runs, a triple, two doubles and eight RBIs), Dustin Roberts (three triples, two doubles) and Todd Lasseigne (13 hits).

Will Brooks had three victories on the final day, and Troy Creppel had the other win with a five-hitter.

Dylan Wooten started the championship game, and Cade Kimbrell got the save. Kimbrell was also the Defensive MVP of the tournament, playing shortstop, second base, center field and pitcher.

Mason Tillman, Justin Rivere, Parker Simoneaux, Chapman Lowrence, Brennan Major and Russ St. Romaine also contributed in the title run.


DOAN, DESSELLE WIN RRCA SOUTH EVENT: Conor Doan was the overall winner of the Road Runners Club of America South’s BASF Freedom Mile on July 4.

Doan, 23, finished in 4 minutes, 22 seconds. The top women’s finisher was Amber Desselle, 15, in 5:45.

Troy Alello, 43, was the top masters finisher in 5:01. Kim Dominick, 48, topped the women’s masters field in 6:00.

In the grandmasters field, Al Naquin, 52, was tops in 5:28. The top woman was Ann Wise, 58, in 7:09.

Troy Turkington, 35, won the BASF Challenge in 5:44.

Chipola, STAMEY take summer hump day race No. 3: Jacob Chipola and Alicia Stamey won the RRCA South’s third summer hump day race July 9.

Chipola, 19, was the top male finisher in 9:57. Stamey, 14, topped the female field in 12:40.

Tre Hendry, 42, was the top male masters finisher in 11:25. Janet Daigle, 50, topped the masters women in 13:42.

Kenny Schexnayder, 56, topped the male grandmasters in 13:46; Jeanie Rollins, 50, led the women in 16:03.