The Baton Rouge-based Varsity Red Sox baseball team recently won the 13-under championship of the USSSA Global World Series in Gulf Shores and Orange Beach, Alabama.

The team went 3-5 in the tournament but was 3-1 in bracket play, including a 27-1 win over the Tangi Rangers Red team based out of Amite.

Team members are Brad Baxter, Thomas Beale, Clay Beassie, Cruz Bridges, Travis Chacon, Jacob Gilbert, Jackson Hood, Garret Mumphrey, Austin Richard, Seth Stephens, Collin Stroup and Harrison Warren. The team is coached by Kellen Bozeman and Stacey Beassie.


GILMORE-JOLLY TEAM WINS STATE TITLE: The team of Tim Gilmore of Bayou Vista and Eddie Jolly of Monore defeated the team of Ricky Richard of Church Point and Alois Habetz of Sulphur in a 60-shoe playoff to win the men’s Class A title and tournament championship at the state doubles horseshoe pitching championships June 27 at Chennault Park in Monroe.

Dudley Michel of Bayou Vista and Al Dodson of Morgan City finished third in Class A.

In men’s Class B, Mike Ricardo and Tommy Zmek of Shreveport defeated Randy Giroir and Ryan Fryou of Berwick in a 60-shoe playoff to win the title. Darrel Dennis and Bill King of West Monroe finished third.

The team of J.P. Morse and Steve Rotach of Shreveport topped Glenn Miller of Belle River and Chris Rogers of Morgan City in another 60-shoe playoff to take the Class C men’s title. Burnie Williams of Morgan City and Julius Lovell of Bayou L’Ourse grabbed third.

In another 60-shoe playoff, Bob Kraus and Darron Adams of Shreveport defeated Randy Blackmon of Shreveport and Hilton Rhodes of Bayou Vista to win the men’s Class D title. Shreveport’s Jerry Dupont and Mark Richmond finished third.

In women’s competition, Pat Pertuit of Marrero and Sharla Fontenot of Lacassine defeated Angela Percle of Morgan City and Bobbie Richard of Church Point in a 60-shoe playoff to win the Class A and tournament championships. Rhonda Smith of Lake Charles and Mary Begnaud of Lacassine finished third.

Nancy Woods and Becky Jo Boyle of Monore won the Class B championship, while Judy Doré of Patterson and Jamie Granger of Morgan City finished second. Vickie Howard and Erica Noblitt of Monroe were third.