Destrehan’s Cara Ursin adds another honor, Class 5A Outstanding Player _lowres

Advocate staff photo by MATTHEW HINTON--Destrehan's Cara Ursin shoots against Salmen's Arianna Cooks during the Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic in the Alario Center in Westwego, La. Thursday, Jan. 7, 2016.

The honors just keep on coming for Cara Ursin.

The Destrehan junior guard was selected most Outstanding Player on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State basketball teams.

Ursin adds that to the back-to-back Gatorade Player of the Year honors she won.

Ursin, considered to be Louisiana’s top player for 2017, averaged 25 points, 12.9 rebounds, 7.3 assists. 6.0 assists and 5.5 blocked shots per game. She helped the Wildcats reach the quarterfinals as a junior and led Destrehan to the title game as a freshman and the semifinals as a sophomore.

The 5-foot-8 Ursin was one of five players from the Greater New Orleans area to be chosen for the all-state team.

She is joined on the first team by Mandeville’s Elise Reilly and Mount Carmel’s Kristen Nuss.

Reilly averaged 22.6 points, 5.1 rebounds and 3.4 assists for the Skippers, who reached the semifinals.

Nuss led Mount Carmel to its second state championship in three years. She scored 20 points in the championship game and was named Most Outstanding Player of the title game.

Her Mount Carmel teammate, Paige Franckiewicz, made the second team. Franckiewicz, who will play at Loyola, averaged 13 points per game for the Cubs.

Dynah Jones, a 5-foot-8 sophomore who averaged 14 points per game for John Curtis, also made the second team.

Four local players were selected to the boys 5A all-state team, including three from District 8-5A.

Landry-Walker junior guard Lamar Peters and Chalmette senior center Mitchell Robinson were both chosen to the first team.

Peters, a Mississippi State signee, averaged 18 points and five assists for the Charging Buccaneers. The sharp-shooting senior’s season was highlighted by a 40-point outing, including 12 3-pointers, in a game against Chalmette.

Robinson, committed to Texas A&M, averaged 20.8 points, 13.8 rebounds and eight blocked shots for the Owls.

Bonnabel’s Joseph Thompson and St. Augustine’s Caleb Daniels also were chosen to the second team.

Thompson averaged 21.2 points for the Bruins, who upset division foe Landry-Walker in the second round of the playoffs.

Daniels averaged 20 points for the Catholic League champion Purple Knights.

Scotlandville sophomore Ja’Vonte Smart was voted Most Outstanding Player in 5A.

Smart, considered to be one of the nation’s top recruits for 2018, was voted the Outstanding Player on the boys team. He helped lead the Hornets to a runner-up finish by averaging 22.4 points, 7.2 assists and 6.9 rebounds.

East Ascension’s Barry Whittington and Shelly Laprarie of Denham Springs claimed the Coach of the Year honors.

Laprarie coached DSHS girls to a 30-4 record and a runner-up finish. It was the school’s first title-game appearance in 20 years. Whittington’s 13th-seeded EAHS boys squad finished 30-7 and advanced to the semifinals.

Players from the Greater New Orleans area named to honorable mention are: Troy Green (East St. John), Timothy Bedford (St. Paul’s), Lamont Berzat (Landry-Walker), Devante Jones (St. Augustine), Kai Morgan (John Curtis), Mason Aucoin (Hahnville), and Harrison Prieto (St. Paul’s).

No local girls players were named honorable mention.