A season like no other for Baton Rouge’s Class 5A schools has translated into impressive postseason honors for Zachary quarterback Lindsey Scott Jr. and Catholic High coach Dale Weiner.

Scott was selected as the Class 5A Offensive Most Valuable Player on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A all-state football team for the second straight season.

Weiner was voted the Coach of the Year by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Baton Rouge has not had a team win a state title in the highest classification since the LHSAA added 5A in 1991. Catholic and Zachary pulled off a 5A double play in a span of eight days.

First, Catholic beat Rummel to win the Division I select state title on a last-second field goal. Eight days later, Zachary ousted John Ehret 46-12 to claim the nonselect 5A title.

Scott was voted the 5A Offensive MVP for the second straight season. He compiled 5,002 total yards and accounted for 61 TDs. Scott’s totals included 3,039 passing yards and 33 TDs and 1,963 rushing yards and 28 TDs. Ehret linebacker Michael Divinity was voted Defensive MVP.

“Individual honors are great,” Scott said. “Winning the state title with my teammates was what I really wanted. It was something we worked for so hard. It’s hard to describe that feeling because you know there are no guarantees.

“I put in time during the offseason on everything. I knew I had to be better. We all did that.”

Like Zachary, Catholic won its first state title in football. The Bears’ storybook ending, which included three come-from-behind playoff wins, also came during the same season that Weiner notched his 300th career win.

“First of all, it’s a huge honor,” Weiner said. “I’m very grateful. But no head coach does it alone. We have an outstanding group of coordinators and assistant coaches who made this possible, along with our players. It was a special year. … I don’t think you write a script that’s any better than what happened for us.”

Zachary placed two other players, offensive lineman Kellton Hollins and receiver Douglas Coleman (1,482 receiving yards, 15 TDs), on the 5A squad. Catholic running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire (1,338 rushing yards, 822 receiving yards, 20 TDs) and defensive lineman Aaron Moffitt (54 tackles, 14 tackles for loss, 11 sacks) also made the team.

Defensive lineman Caleb Roddy of Denham Springs (66 tackles, 27 tackles for loss, 14 sacks) completed the local contingent on the 5A team.

Divinity, an Under Armour All-American, led Ehret to the title game with 60.5 tackles, 13 sacks and two forced fumbles.

The offensive backfield also included Brother Martin’s Bruce Jordan-Swilling (1,884 rushing yards, 30 TDs) and Sam Houston’s Trevontai Thompson (1,750 rushing yards, 23 TDs) at running back.

Parkway’s Terrace Marshall (53-1,358, 14 TDs) and Natchitoches Central’s Brandon Rachal (62-1,093, nine TDs) are the receivers. Ponchatoula’s Donovaughn Campbell, John Curtis’ Willie Allen, Acadiana’s Ethan Bellman and Rummel’s Joe Oliver are the offensive linemen.

Parkway’s C.J. Morgan (753 receiving yards, 685 rushing yards, 22 total TDs) is the squad’s athlete, while Airline’s Gabe Rodriquez (7 of 8 field goals with a long of 42 yards) is the kicker.

Divinity is one three Ehret linebackers on the team, along with DeJon Harris (83 tackles, 14 tackles for loss) and Robert Green (31 sacks). Acadiana’s Kevin Moore is the other linebacker.

The defensive line includes Destrehan’s Glen Logan (54½ tackles, 5½ tackles for loss, four sacks) and Rummel’s Briston Guidry (69 tackles 6½ sacks).

Rummel’s Kristian Fulton (26 solos, 13 assists, two interceptions, 4½ tackles for loss), St. Paul’s Deonte Sorapuru (11 interceptions), Curtis’ Garrett Wallow (73 tackles, 15 pass breakups) and Ruston’s Seth White (76 tackles, nine tackles for loss) are the defensive backs.

Curtis’ Kody Schexnayder (43.4 yards per punt) is the punter, while the return specialist is Barbe’s Kirkland Banks (four punt return TDs, two kickoff return TDs).