The East Baton Rouge Parish School System is set to host its East Baton Rouge All-Star Weekend for basketball on March 28-29 at Baton Rouge Community College.

A NBA All-Star format of challenges is set for 6 p.m. Saturday for the senior players participating. There will be a skills contest, a 3-point shooting contest and a dunk contest.

Games begin at 5 p.m. Sunday with a girls contest between North and South teams made up of senior players from EBR schools. The boys game follows the same format and immediately follows the girls game.

Two seniors from 5A state champion Scotlandville, LaMarcus Lee and Monquel Hawkins, are committed to play.

Gatorade seconds for U-High

University High’s Wayde Sims is the second UHS player to win the Gatorade Player of the Year honor for boys basketball.

Former U-High and LSU star Glen Davis won the award in 2004 after leading the Cubs to two Class 3A titles in three seasons.

Sims and his UHS teammates will seek a third straight 3A title in 2015-16.


They didn’t get to complete their District 4-5A game Thursday, but what happened between the Denham Springs and Zachary softball teams offers a great example of sportsmanship. It made Zachary coach Leslie Efferson-Yellott so proud that she wrote a letter to the Denham Springs administrators.

Rain started to fall in the fourth inning, so the Zachary players scrambled to get tarps on the field at Zachary Youth Park. The teams stayed in their dugouts during the rain delay and had a sing-off that covered many decades of music.

All the way from Queen to Taylor Swift, they went back and forth. When the rain appeared to let up, the Zachary players started removing the tarps. But as soon as the tarps were off the field, the rain started again and this time it was heavier. Without hesitation, the Denham Springs players ran onto the field and helped their rivals cover the field. When the game was called a short time later, the players exchanged hugs instead of handshakes and posed for water-soaked group pictures together.

“Your coaching staff, coach (David) Bourque, coach (Kristy) Saltaformaggio, coach (Tristian) Leblanc, and coach (Brandi) Smart, have done an amazing job in creating a TEAM that care more about doing the right thing than just winning games.” Efferson-Yellott wrote. “This should be the goal of all coaches. It is not always about wins and losses, rather it is about teaching life lessons to young ladies that will carry them far beyond the game of softball.”

A special presentation

Brusly made a special presentation to some of its softball alumni just over a week ago.

Members of the Panthers’ 1991 softball team that won a Class 2A state title were given championship rings at a school softball event by their former coach, Julie Mayeux, now a Brusly assistant principal.

What made this presentation special is this Brusly team came from the era before getting championship rings for players was the norm. All but two team members were on hand for the presentation that was part of an event that featured the current Brusly team.

SLHS Hall of Fame

Former Southern Lab and LSU football/baseball standout Chad Jones is part of an 11-member class being inducted into the Southern Lab Sports Hall of Fame at 6:30 p.m. April 3 at the SU Cotillion Ballroom.

Joining Jones are two other ex-LSU standouts, Quinna Chaney (women’s basketball) and Chuck Wiley (football). Other inductees include Kirk King (basketball-UConn), Nick Anderson (basketball-Texas A&M), Krystal Huggins (basketball-Southern), Nathaniel Harris (football-Southern), Tia Lee Williams (track-Texas A&M), Trudy Bihm (track-SU), Herb Collins (basketball-Grambling) and Donald Warren (football).

Contact Carl Slaughter at (225) 775-5555 or (225) 771-3490 for ticket information.

Moses excels again

University sophomore Dylan Moses was selected as the top player at the camp in Atlanta on Saturday with an interesting twist. Moses, an LSU commitment, is normally part of the linebacker group. But for this camp he was with the running backs.

Alumni excellence

Ka’Nesheia Cobbins of Arkansas-Little Rock was voted the Sun Belt Conference’s Defensive Player of the Year and was a second-team All-SBC selection.

The former Dutchtown standout also set a single-season UALR record for assists. Cobbins now has 169 assists, including four in Saturday’s 69-60 NCAA tourney win over Texas A&M.

  • Former Zachary standout Morris Wright scored 22 of his career-high 27 points in the second half of Xavier University’s 84-70 loss to Mid-America Christian in the opening round of the NAIA Division I national championship in Kansas City.

Wright scored 10 points in the final 7:37 for the Gold Rush (24-10), who finished on a 17-7 run.

  • Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College’s Kamryn Theriot was selected as the NJCAA Division II Softball Player of the Week for March 2-8. The former St. John standout hit .600 for the week with a grand slam, double and eight RBIs. She plays second base for MGCCC.

Compiled by Robin Fambrough