Grant Mathews’ parents often remind him that he once broke a window with a whiffle ball bat.

He was around 2- or 3-years-old at the time.

Fast forward to 2015, and Mathews continued to do damage with his bat as a senior for Country Day.

It helped earn Mathews a spot on the Class 1A All-State teams as selected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association. A panel of sports writers from across the state voted on the awards and the teams.

Mathews batted .484 this season for the Cajuns, who reached the first round of the Class 1A playoffs.

A three-year starter, Mathews played first base, shortstop and pitched.

The Tulane signee is expected to play first base and third base in college.

Mathews was the only player from the New Orleans area to make the 1A all-state baseball or softball team.

Covenant Christian Academy baseball pitcher Connor Bates and Central Catholic softball pitcher Megan Landry were named Outstanding Players in the two sports.

Bates, an LSU-Eunice signee, got the baseball honor after leading 17-9 CCA to the 1A semifinals as a No. 5 seed. He finished with a 10-5 record and entered the semifinals having worked 71 innings, with 152 strikeouts, 41 walks and a 1.28 ERA.

The District 9-1A MVP was 5-0 in district with two saves and hit .492 with 21 RBIs and 22 stolen bases. Bates had a hit in every game this season and held eventual state champion Ouachita Christian scoreless through six innings in the semifinals before errors cost the Lions in the seventh inning in a 3-2 loss.

Landry, a Nicholls State signee, ended her career by leading fourth-seeded Central Catholic to the 1A state title.

She was 26-3 overall and figured into every decision for the Eagles this season, was the co-District 7-1A MVP, the MVP of the state title game, hit .506 and had 31 RBIs. She also finished her career with over 1,000 strikeouts.

After leading the Eagles to that softball state title, Central Catholic coach Joe Russo is the LSWA softball Coach of the Year. Scotty Richard, who coached seventh-seeded St. Edmund (21-9) to the 1A title game is the baseball Coach of the Year.