Outstanding wrestlers

Division I: Paul Klein, Brother Martin

Klein is The New Orleans Advocate’s Division I Wrestler of the Year for a second straight year after repeating as state champion in the 132-pound weight class. The senior helped Brother Martin win its fourth straight title. It also was Klein’s fourth consecutive title after he won the 106-pound crown as a freshman and 120 as a sophomore.

“I think Paul is the best wrestler to ever come through the LHSAA because he’s a four-time state champion,” coach Robert Dauterive said. “I know he is the best wrestler I have been around.”

Division II: Matt Blair, Shaw

Blair, a junior, finished third in the heavyweight division in the Division II state championships and finished the season with a 31-10 record.

Blair was fourth in his weight class as a sophomore.

“He is consistent,” Shaw coach Paul Hatty said. “He has such great instincts out there, and he has won a lot of big matches for us.”

Division III: Glenn Gebo, De La Salle

Gebo, a junior, won the Division III state championship in the 132-pound weight class.

Gebo, who also plays baseball for the Cavaliers, finished in sixth place as a freshman and sophomore before winning it all as a junior. He helped De La Salle to a second-place finish behind perennial power Brusly for the team title.

“Glenn just has hard work and determination,” first-year De La Salle coach Rod Cusachs said.

First team

Brody Martin/Jesuit, Sr.

Martin won the Division I title in the 106-pound weight class and finished 43-6.

Stephen Shields/Brother Martin, So.

Shields, who won at 106 last year, won the Division I title at 113 and finished 49-1.

Ben D’Antonio/Jesuit, Sr.

D’Antonio repeated as Division I champ in the 120-pound weight class and finished 21-5.

Dylan Soileau/Holy Cross, Sr.

Soileau won the Division I title at 126 pounds and finished 26-3.

Paul Klein/Brother Martin, Sr.

MVP won fourth straight title and was 44-0.

Jake Rando/Holy Cross, So.

Rando won the Division I title in the 138-pound weight class and finished with a 34-3 record.

Mason Williams/Brother Martin, Sr.

Williams was second in Division I at 145 pounds and finished 39-5.

George Benoit/Holy Cross, Sr.

Benoit won the Division I title in the 152-pound weight class and finished 29-0.

Josh Ramirez/Rummel, Fr.

Ramirez won the Division I title in the 160-pound weight class and finished 36-7.

Brice Duhe/Holy Cross, Sr.,

Duhe won Division I at 170 pounds and was 32-3.

Yehia Riles/Brother Martin, Sr. , 47-1

Riles won Division I in the 182-pound weight class for a second straight year and was 47-1.

Kendrick Jones/Hahnville, Sr.

Jones repeated as Division I champ in the 195-pound weight class and finished 65-0.

Ethan Eisenhardt/Fontainebleau, Sr.

Eisenhardt won the Division I title in the 220-pound weight class and finished 51-0.

Dominic Carmello/Holy Cross, Sr.

Carmello won the Division I title in the 285-pound weight class and finished 36-5.

Second team

106: Blake Mateu, Rummel, Fr.

113: Beau Bush, Holy Cross, Jr.

120: Stephen Rumney, Brother Martin, Jr.

126: Matt Mauro, Shaw, Sr.

132: Joey Foret, Holy Cross, So.

138: Hunter Bourgeois, St. Paul’s, Jr.

145: Conrad Wyre, De La Salle, So.

152: Will Lafranca , Jesuit, Sr.

160: Daniel Evans, Brother Martin, Sr.

170: Pierce Williams, Brother Martin, Jr.

182: Brandon Verges, Fontainebleau, Sr.

195: Guy Patron, Jesuit, Jr.

220: Robert Hudgins, Rummel, Jr.

285: Christian Ponson, Fontainebleau, Sr.