Summerfield claimed the top honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class C All-State basketball teams.

Two Jehovah-Jireh players, Trenton Payne and Donald Johnson III, earned second-team honors on the boys squad selected by a panel of writers from across the state.

Payne, a 6-foot-3 sophomore, averaged 23 points, 10 rebounds, three assists and three blocked shots to help the Warriors advance to the quarterfinals, where they lost to eventual champion Summerfield. Johnson (6-2) also played a key role for JJCA, averaging 20 points, eight rebounds and four steals per game.

Summerfield won its second straight Class C girls title and its first boys title since 2000. There is a local connection. Randy Carlisle, who coached the Summerfield teams to state titles on back-to-back weekends, spent one season as head boys basketball coach at Hosanna Christian prior to the school’s closure. Summerfield had a 30-1 girls record and a 22-7 boys record.

Carlisle, was chosen as the Coach of the Year for both teams on the LSWA’s Class C teams.

The Rebels’ Nicole Bursey, the District 1-C MVP, averaged 14.2 points and 6.6 assists per a game and was voted the Outstanding Player on the girls squad. Summerfield’s Paul Corbin, who averaged 12.8 points, 9.4 assists and 5.1 rebounds per game, garnered boys Outstanding Player honors for the boys.

Two other Summerfield players received all-state recognition. Mercedes Coleman (13.9 points per game, 9.4 rebounds per game) joined Bursey on the girls’ first team, while Prentiss “Trey” Washington (13 ppg, 6.2 rpg) garnered second-team recognition.

Rounding out the girls first team were Epps’ Alexus Holt (20 ppg, 8 rpg, 6 apg), Pleasant Hill’s Ayana Smith (14.3 ppg, 8.1 rpg) and Plainview’s Lauren Rasmussen (14 ppg, 4 rpg).

Corbin was joined on the boys first team by Atlanta’s Lashard Powell (22 ppg, 6 rpg), New Living Word’s Rashaan Proctor (18 ppg, 14 rpg), Elizabeth’s Kolby Friday (24.2 ppg, 14.3 rpg) and Simpson’s Roman Redfearn (17.2 ppg, 8.1 rpg, 8.2 apg).

The girls second team consisted of Pleasant Hill’s Brayleigh Brown (15.4 ppg) and Samiah Scott (12.4 ppg), Simpson’s Dallas Burns (14.4 ppg), Atlanta’s T’Keyah Henson (17.9 ppg) and Epps’ Skylar Drungo (10 ppg).

Atlanta’s Taren Sapp (12 ppg) and New Living Word’s junior Justin Onwuzlike (18 ppg) also made the boys second team.


First team

Player School Ht. Class PPG

Paul Corbin Summerfield 6-6 Jr. 12.8

Lashard Powell Atlanta 6-0 Jr. 22.0

Rashaan Proctor New Living Word 6-6 Sr. 18.0

Kolby Friday Elizabeth 6-3 Sr. 24.2

Roman Redfearn Simpson 6-3 Sr. 17.2

MVP: Paul Corbin, Summerfield

Coach of the Year: Randy Carlisle, Summerfield

Second team

Trenton Payne Jehovah-Jireh 6-3 So. 23.0

Trey Washington Summerfield 5-10 Jr. 13.0

Donald Johnson III Jehovah-Jireh 6-2 So. 20.0

Justin Onwuzlike New Living Word 5-10 Jr. 18.0

Taren Sapp Atlanta 6-1 Sr. 12.0

Honorable mention: Chayce Hurst, Elizabeth; Trey Maddox, Elizabeth; John Buggs, Summerfield


First team

Player School Ht. Class PPG

Nicole Bursey Summerfield 5-7 Sr. 14.2

Alexus Holt Epps 5-7 Sr. 20.0

Mercedes Coleman Summerfield 5-6 So. 13.9

Ayana Smith Pleasant Hill 5-10 Jr. 13.7

Lauren Rasmussen Plainview 5-6 Jr. 14.0

MVP: Nicole Bursey, Summerfield

Coach of the Year: Randy Carlisle, Summerfield

Second team

T’Keyah Henson Atlanta 5-8 Sr. 17.9

Brayleigh Brown Pleasant Hill 5-11 Jr. 15.4

Samiah Scott Pleasant Hill 5-10 Jr. 14.9

Dallas Burns Simpson 5-6 Sr. 14.4

Skylar Drungo Epps 5-7 So. 10.0

Honorable mention: Baylee Doyle, Singer; Lacy Loupe, Maurepas; Katie Jo McBride, Elizabeth; Tirea Henson, Atlanta; Rayleigh Bennett, Claiborne Christian