The New Orleans area was well represented on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State team, including having four players make first team at the running back and receiver positions.

Running backs Trey Ragas of Shaw and Will Matthews of Destrehan were chosen at their positions, while receivers Stanley Morgan of St. Augustine and Kalija Lipscomb of Jesuit were chosen at their positions.

Ragas, a junior who was also named Offensive Player of the Year in the Catholic League, finished season with 1,813 yards and 23 touchdowns.

Matthews, a senior, rushed for 1,814 yards and 24 TDs to help lead Wildcats to the Class 5A title game.

Morgan finished with 60 receptions for 1,027 yards and 11 touchdowns, while Lipscomb had 64 catches for 989 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Lipscomb also caught two touchdowns in the state championship game as the Blue Jays won their first title since 1960.

Two-time Class 5A champion Acadiana claimed two of the state’s top individual honors.

Acadiana coach Ted Davidson was voted Coach of the Year and defensive back Ronald Broussard was tabbed as the Outstanding Defensive Player for a second consecutive season.

Quarterback Lindsey Scott Jr., who led Zachary to its first semifinal appearance in decades, was voted the Outstanding Offensive Player on the team selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Davidson, who led the Rams to their sixth state championship game appearance, helped Acadiana overcome four regular season losses to win the school’s fourth state title. Ponchatoula’s Hank Tierney also was considered for coaching honor.

Broussard, a 5-foot-9 175-pound senior, continued to be a shutdown corner for the Rams defense and he ended his career as the school’s all-time leader in interceptions with 23.

Scott, who was the District 4-5A MVP, passed for 2,231 yards and 24 touchdowns, while rushing for 965 yards and 15 touchdowns en route to leading Zachary to the semifinals where they lost to the Rams.

Broussard was one of three Rams players to earn all-state honors as Bry’kiethon Mouton was voted as the tight end and Caden Cunningham was elected as one of five offensive lineman.

The remainder of the offensive unit includes offensive linemen Ryan Hanley of Rummel, Cody Ford of Pineville, Jeff White of Jesuit and Logan Currington of West Monroe.

Catholic High-Baton Rouge’s Derrius Guice joined Ragas and Matthews at running back. Kicker Jack Gonsoulin of Catholic and athlete Christian Campbell, Ponchatoula’s quarterback, complete the offense.

Isaiah Buggs of Ruston, Briston Guidry of Rummel, Marquis Garman of Thibodaux and Chris Livings of Barbe were the defensive linemen. The linebackers picked were Dwaine Thomas of Hahnville, Krishun Cash of Byrd, Matthew Scanlon of Mandeville and Mason Knighton of Sam Houston.

Kristian Fulton of Rummel, Roderic Teamer of Brother Martin and Jawun Jiles of Byrd were picked as defensive backs.

Punter Aaron Malik of Ponchatoula and return specialist Kirklan Banks of Barbe rounded out the defensive unit.