Six players from the New Orleans area, including two pitchers who had stellar seasons, were selected to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State baseball team.

Kade Granier of Destrehan and C.J. Avrard of Jesuit were the two pitchers selected to the team.

Granier went 9-0 this season with a 0.97 ERA for District 6-5A champion Destrehan, which reached the regional round of the Class 5A playoffs.

Among his wins were victories over eventual state champion Barbe, Brother Martin, Rummel, Byrd and Hahnville (twice).

The Southeastern Louisiana signee pitched a no-hitter with 11 strikeouts in a 3-0 victory against Byrd in the bidistrict round of the playoffs.

Avrard went 9-2 with a 1.15 ERA for the Blue Jays, who reached the 5A semifinals.

Brother Martin placed two players in the team. Third baseman Owen Magee was selected as an infielder and short stop Greg Deichmann, an LSU signee was chosen as a utility player.

Magee batted .422 this season and Deichmann hit .354 for the Catholic League champions.

The other two local players to make the team were Northshore outfielder Parker Morris (.480) and Jesuit Brandon Sequeira, who made it as utility player.

Fontainebleau junior outfielder Savannah Folse (.442) was the only local girl selected to the All-State softball team.

Top honors went to a couple players who led their teams to state titles.

Ouachita pitcher Kat Lee and Barbe shortstop Kennon Fontenot were voted 5A Player of the Year for softball and baseball, respectively.

Fontenot was voted the Outstanding Player on the baseball squad after compiling a .489 batting average with 21 home runs and 69 RBIs while leading Barbe to the a baseball title.

Lee was selected as the Outstanding Player for softball after compiling a 24-3 record, including a 5-0 mark as Ouachita won its first state title in softball. She had a 2.25 earned run average and also batted .443 with 33 runs scored.

Ouachita’s Tim Whitman (softball) and Live Oak’s Greg Briggs (baseball) garnered the Coach of the Year honors on the LSWA teams selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Whitman, who previously won state titles in the 1990s at Pineville High, led Ouachita to a 25-5 record and its first state title. Briggs led Live Oak to a 30-10 record and a state runner-up finish in the school’s first appearance in the 5A state tournament.

Sam Houston’s Tanner Wright (20-2, 314 strikeouts), Pineville’s Bailey Allen (16-7, 171 strikeouts) and St. Amant’s Skylar Cook (21-2, 1.71 ERA) were the other softball pitchers selected.

The rest of the baseball pitching staff consisted of Ruston’s David Michael Burkhalter (7-3, 0.70 ERA) and Barbe’s Gunner Leger (17-0, 1.55 ERA.

Sulphur’s Becca Brooks (.405, 7 home runs, 49 RBIs) and Barbe’s Bryce Jordan (.476, 6 home runs, 39 RBIs) were selected as the catchers.

Sulphur’s Alexis Mouton (first base, .432), Live Oak’s Payton Gremillion (second base, .495), St. Amant’s Kara Gremillion (shortstop, .548) and East Ascension’s Carmisha Payton (third base, .491) were picked for the softball infield.

Joining Brother Martin’s Magee in the baseball infield were Sam Houston’s Peyton McLemore (first base, .475), and Zachary’s P.J. Cannon (second base, .356.

Barbe’s Beau Jordan (.420), Alexandria’s Kevin VanAsselberg (.388) joined Northshore’s Parker Morris in the baseball outfield, while Pineville’s Rebecca Martin (.450) and Denham Springs’ Brittany Case (.606) made the softball team as outfielders with Fontainebleau’s Folse.

Utility players picked for the softball squad were Denham Springs’ Jaden Accardo (.389), Sam Houston’s Abby Jolie (.475), Northshore’s Sydney Bourg (.735), Ouachita’s Karlee Walker (.423) and Mount Carmel’s Sam Dares (.457).

Live Oak’s Lenni Kunert (.386), Sulphur’s Kale Breaux (14-3) and St. Amant’s Brennan Grant (7-3) were the other utility choices for baseball.

LSWA Class 5A All-State baseball, softball teams


LeftAlign.3LeftAlign.31LeftAlign.123RightAlign.215RightAlign.259Pos. Player School Cl. Avg./Stats

P Kat Lee Ouachita Sr. 24-3

P Tanner Wright Sam Houston So. 20-2

P Bailey Allen Pineville Sr. 16-7

P Skylar Cook St. Amant Sr. 21-2

C Becca Brooks Sulphur Sr. .405

1B Alexis Mouton Sulphur Jr. .432

2B Payton Gremillion Live Oak Sr. .495

SS Kara Gremillion St. Amant Jr. .548

3B Carmisha Payton East Ascension Sr. .491

OF Rebecca Martin Pineville So. .450

OF Savannah Folse Fontainebleau Jr. .442

OF Brittany Case Denham Springs Jr. .606

UTL Jaden Accardo Denham Springs Fr. .389

UTL Abby Jolie Sam Houston Jr. .475

UTL Sydney Bourg Northshore Sr. .735

UTL Karlee Walker Ouachita Sr. .423

UTL Sam Dares Mount Carmel So. .457


COACH OF THE YEAR: Tim Whitman, Ouachita

Honorable mention: Brooke Overley, H.L. Bourgeois; Brenna Copes, H.L. Bourgeois; Devyn Knippers, Sulphur; Savannah Settle, Natchitoches Central; Shelby Rome, Fontainebleau; Sarah Long, Byrd; Addison Roark, Ouachita; Miranda Young, Airline; Lacey Dodson, Haughton; Haydn Parker, Parkway; Allie Williams, Pineville; Jessica Crum, Dutchtown; Lauren Simar, Hahnville; Casey Harrington, Ruston; Margeaux Smith, Ruston; Nikki Skerlong, Ouachita; Katie Smith, Airline; Anna Dunn, Captain Shreve; Carleigh Chaumont, Sam Houston; Madeline Poole, Alexandria; Alaina Guarino, Mount Carmel; Victoria Pederson, Ouachita; Ashlie Dubuy, West Monroe; Mary Kate Bozeman, Parkway; Miriam Trafford, Caddo Magnet; Shelby Spruiell, Byrd; Sarah Desselle, Pineville; Brister Curry, Ruston; Anna Dies, Haughton; Jessie Watts, East Ascension; Taylor Lockwood, Walker.


LeftAlign.3LeftAlign.31LeftAlign.123RightAlign.215RightAlign.259Pos. Player School Cl Avg./Stats

P David Michael Burkhalter Ruston Sr. 7-3

P Gunner Leger Barbe Sr. 17-0

P Kade Granier Destrehan Sr. 9-0

P C.J. Avrard Jesuit Sr. 9-2

C Bryce Jordan Barbe Sr. .475

1B Peyton McLemore Sam Houston Sr. .475

2B P.J. Cannon Zachary So. .356

SS Kennon Fontenot Barbe Sr. .489

3B Owen Magee Brother Martin Sr. .422

OF Beau Jordan Barbe Sr. .420

OF Kevin VanAsselberg Alexandria Sr. .388

OF Parker Morris Northshore Sr. .480

UTL Brandon Sequeira Jesuit Sr. 10-1

UTL Lenni Kunert Live Oak Jr. .386

UTL Greg Deichmann Brother Martin Sr. .354

UTL Kale Breaux Sulphur Jr. 14-3 UTL Brennan Grant St. Amant Sr. 7-3

OUTSTANDING PLAYER: Kennon Fontenot, Barbe

COACH OF THE YEAR: Greg Briggs, Live Oak

Honorable mention: Eric Miller, Byrd. Cameron Taylor, Airline; Steven Arnold, Alexandria; BJ Edwards, Pineville; Reuben Edwards, Alexandria; Carlo Graffeo, St. Paul’s; Blake Baker, Jesuit; Bryce Dantin, Shaw; Ethan Elliott, Grace King; Alex Galy, Jesuit; Daniel Lahare, Brother Martin; Jace Nini, Shaw; Ryan Brewer, Destrehan; Tyler Lamers, Hahnville; Spencer Veit, Rummel; Doc Wilkerson, Ruston; Garrett Soileau, Ruston; Derek Boutin, Acadiana; Bryce Guidry, Central Lafourche; Austin Bollinger, Terrebonne; John Snyder, Byrd; Aaron Armstrong, Alexandria; Trace Carter, Alexandria; J.T. Moreau, Pineville; Corey Gaconi, Brother Martin; Mac Sceroler, Denham Springs; Ross Massey, Catholic; Handsome Monica, St. Paul’s; Nick Coomes, Catholic; Dylan Snowden, West Monroe; Braden Comeaux, Barbe; Dustin Mitchell, West Monroe; Cliff Reid, Sam Houston; Matthew Beck, Alexandria; Braedon Barrett, Barbe; Ben Leblanc, Ruston; Cade Richardson, Comeaux; Christian Volion, Holy Cross; Carl Guidry, Denham Springs; Cannon Brasuell, Ruston; Tyler Polk, Comeaux; Madison Livingston, Captain Shreve; Cody Cross, Grace King; Austin Bain, Dutchtown; Michael Claverie, Live Oak; Adam Goree, Barbe; Jarrett Gongora, Brother Martin.