LAKE CHARLES — Summerfield won its first state championship in 16 years as it dethroned two-time defending champion New Living word 72-54 in the Class C title game that opened Friday’s action at the Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Boys Top 28 tournament.

The Rebels were led by junior guard Trey Washington’s 22 points, 8 rebounds and 6 assists. Washington was voted the Outstanding Player in the game played at Burton Coliseum.

John Buggs added 19 points for Summerfield, which swept boys and girls state titles on back-to-back Fridays for coach Randy Carlisle, who previously coached the boys team at now-defunct Hosanna Christian Academy.

“I’m real tired, but it’s a real good tired,” Carlisle said. “It’s exhausting trying to coach two teams to a state championship. They guys and girls both made somebody like me look good. I enjoyed it.”

After falling behind early and going into halftime trailing New Living Word 32-28, Summerfield (22-7) outscored the Lions 44-22 in the second half and ran away with the game in the closing minutes. The Rebels shot 53.1 percent from the field for the game, and held New Living Word (25-19) to under 30 percent for the game.

Justin Onwuzulike led New Living Word with 14 points.

Class B

Anacoco 59, Zwolle 46: Anacoco won its second consecutive state title with a victory over Zwolle behind Most Outstanding Player Will Reese.

Reese led Anacoco (29-11) with 25 points, nine of which came in the fourth quarter despite playing most of the period with four fouls. Brent Cosio added 12 points for the Indians.

Anacoco ran away from the Hawks (32-12) in the second quarter, holding Zwolle to just two points in the period, breaking the Class B record for fewest points allowed in Top 28 tournament history.

Quin Perry led Zwolle with a team-high 20 points on 10-for-14 shooting from the field.