De La Salle's coach Paul Kelly reacts to a play during the basketball game between De La Salle and Country Day at Country Day on January 13, 2017 in New Orleans, LA.

Advocate Photo by STEPHEN LEW

Perhaps Paul Kelly summed his De La Salle basketball team up best in January after a regular-season victory over Country Day.

"The kids are unbelievably unselfish," Kelly said that night. "We don't have one star player. We are different from most teams. We just have five guys that commit to one another, and they just compete."

Kelly led that group to the Division II state championship, a big part of why he was named Coach of the Year on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State team.

No De La Salle players were named to the team, which selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

It was the sixth state title for the Cavaliers and first since 1986. The school also won state championships in 1962 and three straight from 1957-59.

"We are very proud of what we have been able to do," Kelly said after his team beat University High 81-69 for the title. "We have had a great basketball tradition here at De La Salle and unfortunately it kind of died off over the years. So it's nice to bring it back the way this group has."

The Cavaliers finished the season 30-4 and will carry a 16-game winning streak into next season.

The state title was special for Kelly, a 1983 De La Salle grad who just completed his fifth season at his alma mater.

"I'm super proud of these guys and the guys in that locker room," he said after the championship. "I'm just incredibly proud of the togetherness, the unselfishness and the execution."

Two of Kelly's players, Troy Nisby and Ahmad Taylor, were honorable mention all-state selections. They were the only two players from the New Orleans area on the boys' all-state team.

C.J. Jones of Wossman was named Outstanding Player on the boys team. Jones, a Northwestern State signee, averaged 21 points and eight assists in leading the Wildcats to a runner-up finish against Peabody in the Class 3A championship.

Parkview Baptist’s Skyler Goodwin was named Outstanding Player on the girls squad.

Goodwin, a UL-Lafayette signee, averaged 28 points, 10 rebounds, 6 steals and 4 assists per game while leading the Eagles to a state championship win over University High in the Division II finals.

South Beauregard’s Chris Greene was named Coach of the Year for the girls squad after guiding the Lady K’s to a 33-3 record that included a 60-47 win over Albany in the Class 3A state championship.

Lauryn Scott and Nadia Braud, both of St. James, were honorable mention.

Follow Rod Walker on Twitter, @rwalkeradvocate.