Three years ago, Madison Prep Academy was a new school with no athletic tradition.

Star boys basketball player Jarell Martin and coach Jeffery Jones changed that by leading the Chargers to their first state title in Class B last week in Monroe.

Now Martin and Jones share another highlight by topping the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class B All-State basketball teams.

Louisiana’s other record-setting Class B team, the Fairview girls, share top billing on the team selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Jones was selected as the boys Coach of the Year, while Martin garnered Outstanding Player honors for the second straight year.

“This is just awesome,” Jones said. “Like I said at the state tournament, there are a lot of people behind the scenes that made this possible, like the administration of our school and my understanding family.

“But most importantly you have to look at the players whose sweat built this program. We share this.”

Martin, an LSU signee, averaged 26.3 points and 14.8 rebounds. Jones led MPA to a 42-6 record.

“It’s an accomplishment to win an award like this twice,” Martin said. “I’m humbled by it. The most important thing for me was winning the state title. It’s something I’ll always remember.”

Fairview is without a doubt a traditional girls basketball power. The Fairview girls beat Lacassine in Monroe to become the first girls program in Louisiana history to win seven straight state championships.

Four Fairview players and coach Kyle Jinks were named girls teams. Jinks was voted Coach of the Year, while the Panthers’ Natosha Morvant equalled Martin’s feat by garnering Outstanding Player honors for the second straight season. Morvant averaged 19.5 points. Jinks coached Fairview to a 43-1 mark.

Morvant was joined on the first team by Fairview teammates, junior point guard Maghan Cooley (12.9 ppg) and senior shooter Karli West (17.2 ppg). Junior Katie Lemieux (16.4 ppg), who earned title game MVP honors, was named to the second team.

Lacassine’s Eddie Michalko received consideration for the girls coaching honor, while Castor’s Randy Carlislie and Simsboro’s Lance Waldron were other boys coaches nominated.

The trio of Fairview is joined on the girls first team by Lacassine senior Haley Guidry (12.9 ppg) and Florien senior Briana White (12.9 ppg).

Along with Lemieux, the girls second team includes Lacassine junior Abbie Melanson (15.8 ppg), Hathaway senior Hannah Miller (14.9 ppg), Hornbeck senior Andrea Garrett (17.0) and Rapides senior Tineshia Blue (15.7).

Joining Martin on the boys first team are Simsboro senior Daniel Ogunyemi (13.5 ppg), Fairview senior Josh Walker (22.1 ppg), Hornbeck senior Matthew Alford (16.8 ppg) and Madison Prep sophomore Brandon Sampson (16.3 ppg).

Anacoco sophomore Sam Turnipseed (12.3 ppg), Hathaway senior Dylan Augustine (24.8 ppg), Simsboro senior Duntavious Harris (10.5 ppg), Castor senior Chace Carter (15.3 ppg) and Rapides sophomore Montavion Blue (12.4 ppg) comprise the second team.