SULPHUR — Nu Wave Swim made some waves by claiming a second-place finish at the Louisiana Short Course Swimming Championships on Sunday night at the SPAR Aquatic Center.

Crawfish Aquatics of Baton Rouge finished 6,514.50 points to outdistance the field by a wide margin. Nu Wave finished at 2,702, just ahead of Tiger Aquatic Club (2,651). Franco’s Fins finished fourth at 1,807.50.

“We had three boys in the final heat and none of them did their best and a lot of that was because they’re tired,” Nu Wave coach Jacqueline Fessel Millican said. “They all did a really great job. A meet like this, when you get down to the last day, is more about mental toughness and we had some nice swims.

“We knew it would be close between use and TAQ and in the end we finished about 50 points ahead of them. Second place is a great finish and gives us plenty to build on for this summer.

Millican pointed out the effort of Davis Edwards, who started Friday’s session with personal best of 16 minutes, 49.55 seconds in the 1,650-yard freestyle. Edwards swam 30 seconds faster than his previous best and record the second-fastest time in all age groups.

Edwards then came back and placed second moments later in another race with a PR. He tied Crawfish’s Sion Cavana for 13- to 14-year-old high-point honors at the four-day meet with a total of 108.

Other high-point winners from the New Orleans area were Crescent City Swim Club’s Mason Ng in the boys 10-and-under and Bret Serpas in the boys 12-and-under swimming unattached and CCSC’s Thomas Vanderbrook in the boys 15-16 age group.

CCSC’s Ng was a double winner in the girls 10-and-under, placing first in the 50 freestyle (32.21 seconds) and 100 individual medley (1:11.84) Sunday night. Vanderbrook also won twice, taking first in the 50 free (21.72) and 200 individual in 1:54.80.

Nu Wave’s list of winners included in the boys 14-under 1,650 (16:49.55), Emma MacMahon in the 13-14 girls 100 breaststroke (1:09.02) and Kaylin Swoboda in 15-16 girls 100 breaststroke (1:07.51).

Other Sunday girls winners included were Fins’ Megan Loop in the girls 17-and-over 1,650 (17:10.80), South Louisiana Swim Team’s Jenna Leali in the girls 11-12 100 breaststroke (1:14.98), Fins’ Denise Frantz in the open 100 breaststroke (1:05.45),

Hurricane Swim Club’s Gabrielle O’Neil in the 11-12 50 freestyle (26.10 seconds) and Fins Keilee Holcomb in the 10-and-under 100 breaststroke (1:22.31),

Harrison Juneau of Pelican Athletic Club in the 11-12 100 freestyle (25.45) and SLST’s Colin Candebat in the 10-and-under 100 individual medley (1:12.56) were among the boys winners.