TIOGA — The feeling of winning a state title never gets old for Kelly Magendie.

Magendie said the celebration for Lutcher’s ninth straight state title in girls powerlifting was anything but old hat.

“This one was special because we’ll be graduating six girls who have been with me since they were in either seventh or eighth grade,” Magendie said. “But it (winning a state title) never gets old.”

The Bulldogs scored 67 points to win the girls part of the LHSAA’s Division II-Class 4A powerlifting meet at Tioga High School on Friday.

Lutcher had seven individual girls champions and finished well ahead of Leesville (37) and Tioga (29) in the one-day meet.

Assumption claimed the boys title with 53 points, while Ellender was second with 31. Pearl River placed third with 27.

The Bulldogs’ Victoria Vicknair and China Storks were selected as the Outstanding Lifters for the girls meet.

Vicknair won the 123-pound weight class with a total of 755 pounds and was top competitor in the lower-weight divisions. Storks, whose total lift of 1,130 pounds, won the over 220-pound weight class and led the lifters in the upper weight classes.

“We came in expecting a real battle with Leesville,” Magendie said. “They had some misfortune in that a couple of their girls got injured in other sports and couldn’t compete. “But I was very pleased with how my girls performed. They followed through with everything we talked to them about doing.

Likewise, Assumption’s Beau Samanie and Ryan Gaudet who won the Outstanding Lifter honors for the boys. The Mustangs had five individual champions.

Samanie, who won at 165, was the top lifter on the lower weight platform with 1,200 pounds. Gaudet was the 198 champion, had a total lift of 1,420 pounds and was the top lifter on the higher weight platform.

Lutcher’s other champions were Ashley Tucker at 114, Hannah Poche at 132, Delanie Hamilton at 148, Amyri Davis at 198 and Jacey Milton at 220.

Assumption’s other champions were Grant Mabile at 114, Dontrez Wiggins at 181 and Lawrence Armstead at 255.

Bryan LeBouef (123), Kahari Harris (220) of Ellender also were boys champions. Daniel Louque (242) and Cameron Bunn (132) won individual titles for Pearl River.