One team won the state title for a fourth year in a row. The other team returned to the top of the heap after a year hiatus.

Florien and Fairview stood alone atop Class B at the end of the year in softball and baseball.. Now the two teams have garnered the top individual honors on the all-state teams, as chosen by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Abbey McMillian, the southpaw pitcher for the Florien, won her fourth straight Outstanding Player honor. Fairview’s Brennan Maddox picked up his first Outstanding Player award to top the teams picked by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

McMillian, a Troy University signee, went 21-4 with a 1.30 ERA for the Lady Blackcats, leading them to the Class B title for a fourth straight year. She also batted nearly .531 with nine home runs and 40 RBIs.

Maddox, who is headed to LSU-Eunice, capped his high school career by earning a fourth straight all-state honor. Maddox batted .464 with seven home runs, including a massive blast in the state finals as he helped guide Fairview to its second state championship in three years.

Holden’s David Knight and Fairview’s Brent Dowies won Coach of the Year honors. Knight guided the Rockets to a 30-plus win season and a a runner-up finish to Florien in softball. Dowies, in just his first year at the helm, led the Panthers back to the state title.

McMillian had five of her Lady Blackcat teammates make the squad, including three seniors — Caitlyn Corley (.344), Kaitlin Davis (.377, 5 HRs) and Bailey McCleary (.425) — and two sophomores, Haylee Tidwell (.502, 18 RBIs) and Ryleigh Rutherford (.403, 26 RBIs).

Maddox was joined on the baseball squad by teammates Garrett Lavergne (8-2) and Garrett Lemieux (.458).

Knight saw three of his Rockets make the squad, all eighth-graders. Olivia Lackie went 21-4 for Holden, while Emma Hutchinson (.450) and Ashley Fogg (.477) were solid in the batting order.

Rounding out the all-state softball squad were Forest senior Dakota Helmer (.590), Weston senior Cecilia Akin (17-9), Converse junior Megan Sistrunk (.451), Anacoco sophomore Korie Kreps (.600), Fairview junior Adelle Smith (.595), Castor freshman Kelsey Giddens (.679) and Oak Hill senior Nikki Jarrell (21-5).

The remainder of the all-state baseball team includes the Grace Christian trio of junior Luke Boswell (16-2), junior Trevor Saucier (.421) and Jacob Ladner (.409), the Anacoco duo of senior Will Reese (.545, 8 HRs) and junior Austen Partridge (.344), Zwolle senior Holden Rivers (.414), the Stanley duo of Dayton Craig (.464) and Zach Norwood (6-3), Florien junior Lane Alford (7-3), Episcopal-Acadiana junior Mason Shuffler (.360), Avoyelles Charter junior Matt Tassin (9-1), Hicks junior Caleb Hughes (.353) and Glenmora senior Dylan Stokes (.430).