No meeting date has been set, but three notable representatives have agreed to serve temporarily on the Louisiana High School Athletic Association’s school relations committee.

Winnfield Principal Jane Griffin, Episcopal Athletic Director Myra Mansur and Jesuit-New Orleans Principal Michael Giambelluca have agreed to join the committee for its study of the LHSAA’s split football playoffs plan, said committee chairman Mike Boyer, of Teurlings Catholic.

Boyer said he is still waiting on a decision from another possible committee member, Catholic-New Iberia’s Ray Simon. The TCHS principal said a meeting date has yet to be finalized.

The school relations committee’s expansion follows Wednesday’s decision by the LHSAA’s executive committee to defer the plan that divides schools into select/nonselect schools for the playoffs starting this fall for study.

Select schools (private, charter, magnet, dual curriculum and laboratory) have challenged the plan approved by member principals based on grounds it contradicts portions of the LHSAA by-laws. Winnfield’s Griffin was one of the driving forces behind the split proposal.

The school relations committee is supposed to study the plan and offer possible suggestions/alternatives to present to the executive committee at its annual June meeting. LHSAA President Todd Guice, of Ouachita Parish High, will then call a special meeting for all principals to revisit the plan.

Other members of the school relations committee include Northlake Christian Principal Monty Fontenot, Lafayette Parish School System Athletic Director James Simmons, Cedar Creek Principal Andrew Yepson, Zachary High Principal Wes Watts, Florien Principal Eddie Jones, Iowa Principal Michael Oakley, Mount Carmel Academy Principal Camille Ann Campbell and Lutcher Athletic Director Tim Detillier.

Touchet nets honor

St. Thomas More standout Trey Touchet has been selected as the Gatorade Louisiana Boys Basketball Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-2 junior helped lead the Cougars to their first state title since the 1980s by averaging 20.3 points, 4.8 rebounds and 2.4 assists per game.

Touchet also carries a 4.0 grade-point average and excels in track for STM. Winning the Louisiana honor makes Touchet eligible for Gatorade’s national Player of the Year award.

Armed Forces Classic

The Denham Springs High softball team will host Brusly High for its first Armed Forces Classic at 6 p.m. Friday at North Park.

Denham Springs coach David Bourque said a Marines color guard will be on hand. Louisiana veterans and fallen heroes will be recognized between innings and at other points during the game between Class 5A DSHS and 3A Brusly.

Redditt Relays

East Iberville High will host its fourth annual Ike Redditt Relays starting at 3:30 p.m. Friday with field events.

Running events are set for 5:15 p.m. Teams entered include Plaquemine, Central, Family Christian, White Castle, Jehovah-Jireh, Pointe Coupee Central, Madison Prep, False River Academy and host East Iberville.

Live Oak tourney

Live Oak High will host its 16th annual softball tournament starting at 4 p.m. at the Live Oak Ballpark in Watson.

More than 20 teams are scheduled to compete in the round-robin tourney that continues through Saturday. A total of 33 games are scheduled.