Going to the fast-food restaurant that specializes in sweet treats was one of the rewards for the Holden girls basketball team. The Class B state champion Rockets also were honored by the Louisiana Legislature’s House of Representatives on Wednesday.

The Louisiana Sports Writers Association provided one more sweet topping. Holden coach Pam Forbes was voted the Coach of the Year, and players Sydney Hayden and Kaylee Hughes were part of the LSWA’s Class B All-State teams.

“This really is exciting, and it means a lot,” Forbes said of the Coach of the Year honor. “I feel like we have some of the best coaches in Class B, and we’re all pretty close. Most of us coach at community schools where we live and know who players will be from the time they’re in elementary school.

“Girls basketball receives such wonderful support at our school and the community. And to win another state title like we did was so special. Things like this add to it.”

Holden beat Florien earlier this month to give the school its fifth state title in girls basketball and Forbes her fourth. The Rockets finished 26-6 and won their first state title since 2006.

Anacoco’s Will Reese and Lacassine’s Madyson Brasseaux collected the Class B Outstanding Player awards for the second straight year from a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Reese averaged 27 points and nine rebounds per game and led Anacoco to its second straight Class B boys title.

Brasseaux averaged 19.8 points along with 15.7 rebounds and 8.3 assists for girls semifinalist Lacassine.

Martin Ramirez, a first-year coach at Alexandria’s Grace Christian, was picked as the boys Coach of the Year after leading his school to its first Top 28 tourney appearance.

Hayden garnered first-team LSWA honors for Holden. She averaged 15.5 points, 5.8 rebounds and 2.5 assists. She is a returning all-state pick. Hughes, who averaged 10.4 points, 3.2 rebounds and 2.0 assists, made the second team.

Florien’s Aja Law (20 ppg, 11 rpg), Anacoco’s Whitney Goins (15 ppg, 8 rpg) and Fairview’s Maddisen Martin (24 ppg, 8 apg) completed the girls first team.

Simsboro’s Zach Taylor (21.5 ppg, 11 rpg), Fairview’s Brennan Maddox (29 ppg, 14 rpg), Weston’s Lane Hartley (20 ppg, 6 rpg) and Grace Christian’s Elijah Hampton (19.5 ppg) also made the boys first team.

The boys second-team was Anacoco’s Brent Cosio (18 ppg, 8 rpg), Zwolle’s Quinn Perry (14.2 ppg), Midland’s Dagan Patin (16.5 ppg, 7.6 rpg), Grace Christian’s Ben Preuett (16 ppg, 6 apg) and Simsboro’s Deonte Levingston (15.2 ppg, 6.8 rpg).

Lacassine’s Lindsey Priola (16.2 ppg) and Haley Cooley (13.7 ppg) were joined on the girls second team by Florien’s Morgan Miller (12 ppg, 5 apg) and Converse’s Megan Sistrunk (20 ppg, 8 rpg).