Class 5A

No. 9 West Monroe (11-2) at No. 4 Destrehan (13-0)

The buzz: Destrehan is in semifinals for second straight year. Wildcats beat rival Hahnville 24-12 last week. West Monroe eliminated top-seeded Byrd 19-7 last week. Two teams have plenty of history against each other. West Monroe won 29-21 in the 1993 championship and 49-27 in the 2005 quarterfinals. Destrehan beat West Monroe 14-3 in the 2008 title game. Destrehan RB Will Matthews has rushed for over 1,700 yards and has 25 TDs this season. Kirk Merritt and Alfred Smith lead a talented receiving corp. RB Devonte Williams makes the West Monroe offense go, but must get past a defense that hasn’t allowed three TDs in a game all season. Winner plays Acadiana- Zachary winner in championship game Dec. 13.

Class 4A

NO. 1 Plaquemine (12-1) at NO. 5 Warren Easton (11-2), Pan AmERICAN Stadium)

The buzz: Easton seeking first trip to the title game since 1958. Eagles led by QB Deshawn Capers-Smith and WR Tyron Johnson. Capers-Smith, a Texas A&M commitment, was named Louisiana’s Gatorade Player of the Year on Thursday. Eagles averaging 58 points in their three playoff wins. The defense is headed up by DE Kendall Franklin and Arthur McGinnis aand DB Charven Morris. Plaquemine’s lone loss was to Zachary, a team in the 5A semifinals. Both played Woodlawn-BR. Plaquemine beat Woodlawn 35-21 the week before Woodlawn beat Warren Easton 28-21. Plaquemine OL/DL Kevin Dotson is a Louisiana-Lafayette commitment. The offense is led by RBs Preston Russ (1,147 yards, 7 TDs) and Austin Mitchell (903 yards, 17 TDs). Dual threat QB D’Morea Wicks (1,097 rushing yards and 978 passing yards) runs the show. Winner plays Franklinton-Neville winner in championship game.

  • o. 3 Franklinton (12-1) at no. 2 Neville (11-1)

The buzz: Demons have won 10 straight games since only loss of season to Brother Martin. The quartet of QB Michael Wilson, RB Renaz Wilson, RB Azende Magee and WR Chandler Davis leads the offense that is anchored by a big offensive. Wilson has thrown for 1,624 yards. Franklinton beat Landry-Walker 21-15 in the quarterfinals and is allowing just 9.9 points per game in its 10-game winning streak. Perennial power Neville ended Karr’s 4-year run to the Dome last week with a convincing 34-7 victory in the semifinals, recording seven sacks. Neville’s lone loss was against Longview (Texas). Winner plays Plaquemine-Easton winner in championship game Dec. 13.

Class 1A

3 West St. John (10-2) at 2 Haynesville (11-1)

The buzz: Rams beat Plain Dealing 34-20 in the quarterfinals, while Haynesville beat East Beauregard 14-0. QB Jemoine Green and RBs Bradley Borne and Lamore Boudoin lead West St. John’s offense. Morrell Bartholomew is a big-play WR for the Rams. The tradition-rich Golden Tornadoes have won 16 state championships. Winner plays Mangham-Kentwood winner in championship game in Dec. 12.