Check out the New Orleans area All-Metro Boys basketball team: Lamar Peters named Outstanding Player; Karr’s Taurus Howard named Coach of the Year _lowres

Advocate staff photo by SHERRI MILLER -- Lamar Peters at L.B. Landry-Walker High School in Algiers on Tuesday, April 12, 2016.

Player of the Year

Lamar Peters, Landry-Walker, 6-0 Senior

Lamar Peters spent his first two seasons at Landry-Walker playing in the same backcourt with Tyree Griffin.

Griffin, now at Oklahoma State, went on to be named Player of the Year on The New Orleans Advocate’s All-Metro Team in 2014.

Peters joined Griffin this season, winning the honor after averaging 18 points and five assists for the Charging Buccaneers who reached the second round of the 5A playoffs.

“Playing with Tyree made me way better, way smarter and made me a better competitor,” said the 6-foot Peters.

Peters senior year was filled with plenty of highlights, including a game where he knocked down 12 3-pointers against Chalmette and another when he drained 10 treys against U-High.

That deadly long-range shooting helped earn him the nickname Parking Lot Peters because of his ability to shoot from anywhere.

“We’ve come accustomed to it,” said Landry-Walker coach Brian Gibson about Peters’ two big games. “He can get hot, but traditionally he’s a good shooter anyway You knew it was going to be one of those games and you’re just glad you’re not on the other side if it.”

In addition to being named Player of the Year, Peters was a first-team pick on the LSWA 5A all-state team after being named the Player of thre Year in 4A last season. He helped Landry-Walker win state titles as a sophomore and junior.

“His senior year was a culmination of a great high school career,” Gibson said.

It is the third straight year that a player from a school on the Westbank has been named player of the year. He follows Griffin in 2014 and former Helen Cox guard Marlain Veal last season.

Peters, though, lives in the Ninth Ward. That’s where he first began learning how to shoot.

“I just kept working on it and working on it and just became a regular thing,” Peters said.”

Peters has signed to play next season at Mississippi State.

“When Tyree left, I said I didn’t think anybody had a better career than what he had,” Gibson said. “But I think his rivals Tyree as far as the amount of success he has had. We are hoping it transcends for him moving forward. What he has going for him is his level of confidence. The stage won’t be too big for him.”

Peters is looking forward to his next challenge,

But he also took the time to reflect on his senior year and how he wants to be remembered.

“I was just a hard working player who always gave his all on the court and was a winner, a leader,” Peters said.

First team

Jared Butler, Riverside Academy, 6-2, So.

Sophomore had a breakout season, averaging 21 points, seven assists and four rebounds to help Rebels reach the Class 2A state championship game. He was a first-team pick on the LSWA Class 2A All-State team.

Michael Corchiani, Country Day, 6-0, Sr.

Cajuns floor general averaged 19.1 points, seven rebounds and 2.5 steals for the Cajuns, who reached the 2A semifinals. Was named co-district MVP (along with Riverside’s Malik Crowfield). Signed with Southeastern Louisiana.

Malik Crowfield, Riverside Academy, 6-3, Sr.

Repeat all-Metro selection and co-district MVP averaged 20 points, 10 rebounds and seven assists to lead Riverside to 2A title game. First team pick on LSWA 2A All-State team. Signed with Virginia Commonwealth.

De’Jon Jarreau, McDonogh 35, 6-5, Sr.

Versatlie Jarreau averaged 17.5 points, 5.6 rebounds and 4.8 assists per game and led the Roneagles to the Class 4A quarterfinals. Also voted Player of the Year on LSWA Class 4A All-State Team. Signed with Umass.

Mitch Robinson, Chalmette, 6-11, Jr.

The big man transferred from Florida and averaged 20.8 points, 13.8 rebounds, and 8 blocked shots to lead the Owls (23-8) to the second round of the 5A playoffs. Committed to Texas A & M.

Second team

Caleb Daniels, St. Augustine, 6-4, Jr.

Herb McGee, Riverside, 6-2, Sr.

Vincent Phillips, Karr, 6-2, Sr.

Joseph Thompson, Bonnabel, 6-8, Jr.

Romin Williams, Country Day, 5-10, Jr.

Third team

Roydell Brown, Helen Cox, 6-5, Sr.

Troy Green, East St. John, 6-3, Sr.

Stephen Kelly, De La Salle, 5-11, Sr.

Kai Morgan, John Curtis, 6-3, Jr.

Harrison Prieto, St. Paul’s, 6-7, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Mason Aucoin, Hahnville, 6-4, Sr; Timothy Bedford, St. Paul’s, 6-2, Jr.; Lamont Berzat, Landry-Walker, 5-7, Jr;; Riley Demps, Newman, 6-2, So.; Jonathan Green, Ben Franklin, 5-7, Sr.; Irv Smith, Brother Martin, 6-4, Sr.; Tyree Thompson, Karr, 6-3, Sr.

Coach of the Year: Taurus Howard, Edna Karr

Howard, in his third season as head coach of the Cougars, led his alma mater to the Top 28 Tournament for the first time since 2007. Karr reached the semifinals and finished the season 24-13.