KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. – The American Athletic Conference made its football divisional lineup official on Friday, placing Tulane in the West along with Navy, SMU, Tulsa, Memphis and Houston.

Cincinnati, Central Florida, South Florida, Connecticut, Temple and East Carolina will comprise the East.

The format was approved by the conference’s athletic directors at the conclusion of the league’s annual spring meeting.

Although geographically fitting in the East, Navy, which will be football-only member, had requested to play in the West because of its emphasis on recruiting in Texas. Cincinnati had asked to be in the East because the Bearcats recruit heavily in Florida.

The league also voted to play a 5-3 format, meaning teams face the schools from the other division once in the four-year cycle. There was no announcement on who the crossover opponents for 2015 will be.

The division winners will play for the conference title at the home site of the highest-ranked divisional champion. The divisions are for football only.