Thursday: Zephyrs 4, Redbirds 1 _lowres


Iowa scored three runs in the sixth inning to win the series opener 4-1 Monday night at Zephyr Field.

The loss was the third in a row for New Orleans (1-4), which has been outscored 13-2 and gotten just 14 hits in those three games.

Iowa (3-2) broke it open in the sixth. Junior Lake stole third and scored when the throw by Z’s catcher Jhonatan Solano went into left field. RelieverSalvador Sanchez walked in the next run, and Addison Russell’s sacrifice fly brought in Mike Baxter.

Iowa scored with two outs in the second to lead 1-0. Rafael Lopez hit a hard single past second base, and Baxter doubled in Lopez.

The Z’s tied it in the bottom of the inning with help from the Cubs. After Scott Sizemore was hit by a pitch and Miguel Rojas reached on an error by third baseman — and top prospect — Kris Bryant, Sizemore scored on Solano’s sacrifice fly.

Bryant finished 3-for-5 with a strikeout.

Z’s add two; more coming

Catcher Brandon Bantz was brought up from Double-A Jacksonville, and infielder Blake Barber moved from Single-A Jupiter to the Zephyrs.

Bantz replaces J.T. Realmuto, who was called up to the Miami Marlins to replace Jeff Mathis. Barber replaces infielder Reid Brignac (St. Amant), who went to Miami to replace Don Kelly. Mathis and Kelly suffered broken fingers.

Two pitchers also are coming to New Orleans. Right-handers Carter Capps and Jose Urena were called up to Miami to take the place of Henderson Alvarez (shoulder) and David Phelps (paternity list).

Extra bases

Russell, the Cubs’ No. 3 prospect, entered the game 7-of-18 with a homer and three RBIs. He went 0-for-4 with an RBI on Monday. Iowa is missing its No. 2 prospect, Javier Baez, who is on bereavement leave. ... Marty Pevey is in his third season as Iowa manager, the first to lead the Cubs for three consecutive years since former UNO standout Mike Quade from 2003-06. … The series opener was the start of eight games between the teams in 12 days. The teams will finish their season series before the All-Star Game. They’ll play four games in Des Moines from June 26-29 and four from July 4-7 at Zephyr Field.